What's new

2-Xbox network setup issues (NAT, lag, etc.)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rbtabris

New Around Here
Introduction: I am a software developer, but have never learned much about networking. I can keep up with advanced technical topics, but if something I've described here sounds like a "Duh, why did you do that?" detail, this is why. :)

Clients:
Two Xbox 360s (slim model, purchased July 2011, built-in 11n wireless).

Router:
Apple Time Capsule, 11n wireless. A few years old now (probably 1st, maybe 2nd gen, acquired probably 3.5 years ago). Firmware 7.6.1.

Network:
Time Capsule broadcasts only on the 2.4GHz channel. WPA2 Personal network security.

Modem:
Linksys DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (DPC3008-CC). The modem and router are connected with a 1ft-piece of Cat6 550 MHz cable.

ISP:
Comcast/XFINITY. We have their BLAST! service (50 down/10 up).

To note, I had an older modem up until a few months ago. Comcast contacted me with the offer to upgrade my modem. I don't remember what the old modem was, but this was a Speedtest.net test on my MacBook Pro (over wifi) with the old modem:

http://speedtest.net/result/2185982110.png

And this is a test with the modem listed above (over wifi):

http://speedtest.net/result/2342956174.png

The issue:
I'll be using Call of Duty titles as a point of reference. It's the game we play that we are most demanding of the connection.