[384.15_Alpha - builds] Testing all variants.

Status
Not open for further replies.

EmeraldDeer

Very Senior Member
Now I know why I didn't see this message before. Since yesterday I own also my first AX Device - and it seems this DFS ISM is "always on" when a AX device is connected. Right now I'm at work, no AX device online - so the DFS Status is "idle" Makes sense...

I know it's maybe not the right place - but I'm really happy with this alpha-version - and I want to know only one additional advice - do 802.1N devices have any impact on the 5ghz wifi AX performance? I'm asking because I'm wondering if i should try to put a few devices (like amazon kids tabs which are only n-capable) into the 2,4ghz wifi - or if it doesn't make a difference.

Thanks again, and sorry - if its a little offtopic.
I do not know whether the presence of an 802.11n device connected to the same access point as 802.11ax devices slows them down. I do not recall reading an article which has raised the issue.

It would not surprise me if some 802.11n devices do not support connecting to an AP set to 160 MHz of channel bandwidth.
 

SomeWhereOverTheRainBow

Part of the Furniture
I do not know whether the presence of an 802.11n device connected to the same access point as 802.11ax devices slows them down. I do not recall reading an article which has raised the issue.

It would not surprise me if some 802.11n devices do not support connecting to an AP set to 160 MHz of channel bandwidth.
Why wouldn't it? From my understanding isn't it just 160MHz just read as 80+80 in this type of environment for compatibility? Correct me if I don't fully understand.
 

sturmstar

Regular Contributor
I do not know whether the presence of an 802.11n device connected to the same access point as 802.11ax devices slows them down. I do not recall reading an article which has raised the issue.

It would not surprise me if some 802.11n devices do not support connecting to an AP set to 160 MHz of channel bandwidth.

I meant in terms of slowing all other AX devices down because they have to wait for the n-devices to transmit and receive - just like these "airtime fairness"-features.

But I guess - since nobody already shouted "o my god - how can you do that ..." I think it is ok.

thanks again
 

EmeraldDeer

Very Senior Member
Why wouldn't it? From my understanding isn't it just 160MHz just read as 80+80 in this type of environment for compatibility? Correct me if I don't fully understand.
I think 802.11n (the standard, at least) maxxed out at 40 MHz.

It is not clear to me exactly when 160 and 80+80 were introduced, 802.11ac Wave 1 or 802.11ac Wave 2. I think my iPhone 7 Plus supports 80 MHz but not 160 or 80+80.

I would be tempted to allow 802.11ax and 802.11ac on the same access point radio, but I would put 802.11n devices on another radio, like 2.4 GHz or a second 5 GHZ on a tri-band.
 

jsmiddleton4

Very Senior Member
I know my issues with the alpha and media bridge mode hardly a hot topic but here's a quick update.

Not only did I periodically lose connection to the router my 86U was being weird. Just weird. Showing multiple devices connected to an IP when there were not. Odd little things like that.

Read one of the threads about the 5ghz channel going out or being intermittent requiring an RMA. Well its the 5ghz channel I'm using in the Media Bridge connection. I put two and two together and figured it was close enough to four that it was worth exchanging the 86U I had. It was still within the exchange period at Amazon which was longer than 30 days. Not sure why. So I exchanged it. Hooked up new one yesterday. No drops in Media Mode and no weird little symptoms.

I'm also connecting faster too. Was in the low 300's to just over 400. Now in the high 400's into low 500's. When I played with the Netgear wifi extender got in the 500's too.

For my setup the AC86U in Media Bridge mode connecting to a Netgear R7800 is quite satisfactory. This just now not at the highest performing part of the day.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-01-17 at 2.32.50 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2020-01-17 at 2.32.50 PM.png
    78.9 KB · Views: 246

Swistheater

Very Senior Member
Code:
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:43 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:44 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:44 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:44 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:44 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:45 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:45 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:45 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:45 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:45 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:45 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted
Jan 17 15:43:48 dnsmasq[14972]: failed to send packet: Operation not permitted

DNSMASQ has gone crazy.
 

doczenith1

Very Senior Member
do 802.1N devices have any impact on the 5ghz wifi AX performance? I'm asking because I'm wondering if i should try to put a few devices (like amazon kids tabs which are only n-capable) into the 2,4ghz wifi - or if it doesn't make a difference.

Thanks again, and sorry - if its a little offtopic.

I can't answer your question but I do keep my IoT and other slower devices on my 2.4 band and faster devices on 5. I am also curious if there is any benefit to this method.
 

neil0311

Senior Member
Updated to the latest alpha 384.15_alpha1-g95c8d4370f and now I'm seeing this error:
kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not set
But everything seems to work fine. I'll ignore it for now.

Same
 

neil0311

Senior Member
Updated to the latest alpha 384.15_alpha1-g95c8d4370f and now I'm seeing this error:
kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not set
But everything seems to work fine. I'll ignore it for now.

I went back to the previous build because throughput seemed to be lower with the new build on my AX88U and now the throughput is indeed back to what it was before, but this sequence in the logs is now repeating about every 25 min (actual MAC addresses removed)

Jan 17 22:09:02 WLCEVENTD: Auth XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
Jan 17 22:09:02 WLCEVENTD: ReAssoc XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
Jan 17 22:09:02 hostapd: eth7: STA XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX IEEE 802.11: associated
Jan 17 22:09:02 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not set
Jan 17 22:09:02 hostapd: eth7: STA XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX RADIUS: starting accounting session E9A109F3F914239E
Jan 17 22:09:02 hostapd: eth7: STA XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
 

SheikhSheikha

Senior Member
I have noticed that on my RT-AC5300's the throughput (with an L2TP VPN client) is less with the Alpha of last Tuesday. (I switched off the L2TP client and the throughput was good) I went back to the 2 January Alpha and the throughput with L2TP client is good again.
 
Last edited:

beady_uk

Occasional Visitor
Has anyone else had issues with Google home devices. I keep loosing the ability to cast to my devices but, each device works on its own for voice commands and I can see each device connected to the router in the network map.
Currently all my Google devices are connected to the 5ghz band. Smart connect is enabled. It's as if ap isolation is on, but it's not.
Its driving me crazy trying to figure out what's going on.
 
Last edited:

bradbort

Senior Member
Has anyone else had issues with Google home devices. I keep loosing the ability to cast to my devices but, each device works on its own for voice commands and I can see each device connected to the router in the network map.
Currently all my Google devices are connected to the 5ghz band. Smart connect is enabled. It's as if ap isolation is on, but it's not.
Its driving me crazy trying to figure out what's going on.

I've been having google/nest and sonos issues with all versions (OEM and Merlin) on AX88U, including this alpha. To be specific, nest protects don't want to connect to the router directly, although they do sort of ok if connected to a repeater that then connects to the router. Sonos went a bit crazy, so I added it's old school boost module, which handles things. I'm thinking the issue with sonos and some nest devices (my nest hello is fine) will require them to update their wifi drivers, much as some intel cards need to.
 

beady_uk

Occasional Visitor
I've been having google/nest and sonos issues with all versions (OEM and Merlin) on AX88U, including this alpha. To be specific, nest protects don't want to connect to the router directly, although they do sort of ok if connected to a repeater that then connects to the router. Sonos went a bit crazy, so I added it's old school boost module, which handles things. I'm thinking the issue with sonos and some nest devices (my nest hello is fine) will require them to update their wifi drivers, much as some intel cards need to.

My nest hello is working fine too. I don't have Sonos so can't say about that but my Google home, 2x Google minis & 1x nest mini all disappear from being able to cast to them. Individually they work for voice commands and Spotify if requested by voice but I can't stream anything from my phone or computer.
At first I thought it was the QoS causing it so I turned it off but it's still doing it.
It's doing my head in
 

jerry6

Very Senior Member
384-15 is working really well , super stable and transfer speeds betwen computers has gone up from 6-9 MBPS to 16-23MBPS ,hope it stays like this with future builds . really has cut the time it takes on large transfers .
Thanks
 

Blacklistedcard

Regular Contributor
I've been having google/nest and sonos issues with all versions (OEM and Merlin) on AX88U, including this alpha. To be specific, nest protects don't want to connect to the router directly, although they do sort of ok if connected to a repeater that then connects to the router. Sonos went a bit crazy, so I added it's old school boost module, which handles things. I'm thinking the issue with sonos and some nest devices (my nest hello is fine) will require them to update their wifi drivers, much as some intel cards need to.

My NEST thermostat and 5 Protects are connecting fine under the latest Alpha.
 

Blacklistedcard

Regular Contributor
I do not know whether the presence of an 802.11n device connected to the same access point as 802.11ax devices slows them down. I do not recall reading an article which has raised the issue.

It would not surprise me if some 802.11n devices do not support connecting to an AP set to 160 MHz of channel bandwidth.
My NEST thermostat and 5 Protects are connecting fine under the latest Alpha.

Actually, my NEST just downloaded an update...

HTTP Protocol over TLS SSL

417.32MB
 

Sicario

Regular Contributor
Can't really get into technical feedback, but there's something broke with 384.15 alphas on my AC68U. My connection getting really unstable, not disconnected, but just dropping down on quality. I knew that mostly from watching Twitch or any other streaming platform. Rolling back to 384.14_2 solved the issue.
 

L&LD

Part of the Furniture
Can't really get into technical feedback, but there's something broke with 384.15 alphas on my AC68U. My connection getting really unstable, not disconnected, but just dropping down on quality. I knew that mostly from watching Twitch or any other streaming platform. Rolling back to 384.14_2 solved the issue.

I haven't seen anything like that with any RT-AC68U's I've upgraded to the latest Alpha 1 versions?

When was the last time you did a full M&M Config on your router?
 

ankhazam

Senior Member
[email protected]384.15_alpha1-g95c8d4370f with [email protected]@21.60.2.1...
Speeds are fine:
View attachment 20944
With Internet speedtest showing 350/800 DL/UP....

but quite a few already reported errors:
kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not set

Also by no means I can manage to connect using WPA3... Tried simple pass (just alphanumeric).. tried setting WPA3 only... no success...

Update 3:
With these settings WPA3 works!

upload_2020-1-21_18-34-18.png
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top