What's new

a few quick questions about NAS (QNAP vs. Synology, and other)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

mando2023

New Around Here
hi all,
I am considering buying a NAS solution. All I have right now is a stack of external 2, 4, and 5 TB external drives that I have to connect a few at a time and I would really like to have all content available all the time.
Additionally I guess the NAS is supposedly a more secure solution in terms of back up.

I have never used NAS before, so please indulge ...

I am looking at Synology 6 Bay 2.5" NAS DS620slim (Diskless) available at $675 CAD.
Q1: Is Synology really a better choice than QNAP?
Q2: Is there a limit to the total size of the hard drives that go in each slot? I have not seen anything in the specs about this.
Q3: Is it possible to fill in only, say 3 bays out of six for now and add drives later?
Q4: DO all drives need to have the same specs/size ?
Q5: What is the lowest form of stripping and what is the ratio of useful vs. total space used? (with my limited knowledge I would say that a mirror would take 2 times the size mirrored, therefore, the ratio would be 0.5)

Thank you very much,
mando2023

While NAS is a nice place to centralize backups, do not forget to have a plan to back up the NAS itself - RAID has no assurances, and the chance of failure is statistically higher with the number of drives in the arrary (n/1 because disks can and do fail)

A1 - QNAP and Synology are both fine solutions
A2 - For devices currently on the market - check the compatibility lists that the vendor provide, that will give you some idea of what is supported, as that is what the vendor has tested