What's new

A "Sophie's Choice": AiMesh or Merlin?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

talon_262

Occasional Visitor
I've been running Merlin on my Asus routers for a few years now (my current routers are a RT-AC56U [which Asus and Merlin just EOL'ed] and a RT-AC66U [which got EOL'ed a good while back by Asus and Merlin, but which I kept since it's not my main router, just as an AP]). I have a simple rectangular two-story house (24' x 40', approx. 1600 sq.ft.); the RT-56U is in my network "closet" in the front corner of the house on the 2nd floor and serves as the router/main AP and the RT-AC66U is mid-house on the 1st floor as the secondary AP. Both APs are set up with the same SSIDs on each WiFi mode (one for 2.4GHz, a slightly different one denoted for 5 GHz) and all are on different channels, being careful to avoid the most congested channels in the neighborhood, if possible; over the years, I've thought it's worked OK, especially for static/relatively static devices, but I have had some complaints of suboptimal connections/roaming from those in the household when using their phones, tablets, and laptops and moving about the house.