Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AB-Solution - The Ad Blocking Solution (v3.9.1)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by thelonelycoder, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. eighteen

    eighteen Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Hello.

    Is there any advantage or disadvantage in using the ab-solution at the same time with another software blocker for iOS for example?


    Enviado do meu iPad usando o Tapatalk
     
  2. Xentrk

    Xentrk Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Chiang Mai, Thailand
    Thank you. I will take a look at it. In my fork, I modified it to use the same lists you provide in the Large Hosts file option in AB-Solution. The D-Link/DD-WRT router is installed at the children's home. I want to get rid of it and replace it with AC88U or AC1900. I need to write up use case and present it at the next committee meeting to justify spending the money. The features of AB-Solution, AI Protection and stability of ASUS Merlin will be a big part of the write up. I want to turn the D-Link into an AP and install it in another part of the facility to increase WIFI range. The DD-WRT firmware has some issues and I am getting tired of checking on it every few days to make sure cron and other features are still running. Getting ipset to work on it was a hack I'll never forget.

    I ran a manual update on the hosts files and they are all downloading now.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2017
  3. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    The reason I started coding for the manual predecessor of AB, and the subsequent automatic installer under the name AB-Solution was my personal belief that ad-blocking can be done in a satisfying level on the router, benefitting all connected devices and having no need to install separate blocking software on any of these devices.

    As this was my personal goal at the time and soon suceeded, I have never since installed a separate blocker on any of my devices.
    When outside my LAN with the mobile devices, I simply connect them through the routers VPN to benefit from it.

    But for some, the added granular control of a more cabable blocker on device level helps them to block ads that AB is not capable to block.
    So, yes it does make sense to run both, depending on how much time you aare willing to spend on fine-tuning two ad-blockers. Note that AB does the most blocking in that case, leaving the device blocker with the few that got through.
     
    Makaveli and shooter40sw like this.
  4. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    Using updated hosts lists, in address=domain->IP or the more common IP -> domain format is what I expected you to do in your fork. I just wanted to point out if you were using the five year old list from GitHub then many of the domains would be obsolete or missing.
    Some of the hosts files are also available in the address=format but both formats can be used interchangably with Dnsmasq.
    For AB, I made the decision long ago to stick to the format that is used, revisiting this occasionally when a user brings it up. With the outcome being that I made a wise choice at the time...

    I feel honored that AB is included in a write-up to be presented to a board-meeting. I'm sure your expertise with the other routers you are maintaining in schools running AB will be in favour for your proposal.
    Tell them the developer sends them his regards, adding that you yourself helped during beta testing of the current major version in a very supportive and mutually beneficial way.
     
    Xentrk likes this.
  5. shooter40sw

    shooter40sw Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks to @thelonelycoder I dont need nor have installed a separate blocker on any of my devices!
     
    thelonelycoder likes this.
  6. eighteen

    eighteen Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Okay, thanks for the clarification.

    But in the browser what kind of ads ab-solution is not able to block and a software blocker is capable?
     
  7. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    Ads served from the same domain as the website.
    Letting ads pass on one website but not on others from an ad hoster.
    Selectively block ads from a ad hoster.
    Simple in-browser adjustments.
    There's more, but if you're happy with what AB does, these are the ones that are missed by most by AB users.
     
    eighteen likes this.
  8. eighteen

    eighteen Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    The only problem I am encountering when using ab solution through openvpn on ios is the fact that when I am connected to a wireless network outside my home and when the vpn connection goes into standby I do not get notifications.

    If it is connected by 3G with vpn this no longer happens to me.

    How do I solve the problem when I'm connected to wireless?
     
  9. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    That may be a matter of the OpenVPN App settings, have a good look at the Settings in the iOS Settings App for OpenVPN (not the app itself).
    See if you can figure out what causes the timeout. There is also a logfile if you click on the Profile in the App.
     
    eighteen likes this.
  10. Badlandz

    Badlandz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Just noticed this after a hosts update.

    Under option follow the log file:

    Select log verbosity [1-4 e=Exit] 1
    Dnsmasq entry detected,
    redirecting hosts to 127.0.0.1
    Be aware that log file entries with '127.0.0.1'
    are from another script, not AB-Solution

    Haven't installed any other scripts. I did have a problem updating the hosts file. Seems like http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.txt was down for a day or two. But just updated succesfully.

    pixelserv-tls is on.

    * I do have other scripts but they haven't caused this behavior. Just followed log file yesterday before the hosts update when I encountered the notice.
     
  11. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    Post the content of dnsmasq.conf file, there's an entry in it.
    You can view it in sf, then select the file.
     
  12. Badlandz

    Badlandz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    You are correct. Looks like when I enabled DNSCRYPT via john's fork it put in the following entrys in /etc/dnsmasq.conf :

    server=127.0.0.1#65054
    server=127.0.0.1#65053

    Very nice script you have crafted.
     
  13. bayern1975

    bayern1975 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    546
    hmm, I got ads when using tapatalk at last few days? before I didn't have problems...is tapatalk app something change or is problem with my ab-solution?

    Poslano z mojega EVA-L09 z uporabo Tapatalk
     
  14. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    I see no ads on the iPhone or iPad, and I'm not using the Pro version.
    Make sure you are connected to your router, wlan or vpn and maybe force close the app.
     
  15. bayern1975

    bayern1975 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    546
    I try everything....no chance to block ads over tapatalk...I got no ads when using other apps or browsing internet....realy strange....

    Poslano z mojega EVA-L09 z uporabo Tapatalk
     
  16. Miggy

    Miggy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    I tried to install pixelserv, but i am having an error. When trying the "ps" command, it says pixelserv-tls is not running check system log in router webUI for clues.

    Jun 17 04:16:19 admin: Started pixelserv-tls (AB-Solution) from /tmp/mnt/ac66u/adblocking/addon/pixelserv-tls.add.
    Jun 17 04:16:25 admin: AB-Solution created 192.168.2.2 for pixelserv during install.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2017
  17. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    Router model, exact firmware version please.
    Also, there's more in the syslog with pixelserv than you posted.
     
  18. Miggy

    Miggy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Asus rt-ac66u_B1
    I have the latest firmware version.

    The syslog only shows the one I posted earlier.
     
  19. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    2,911
    Location:
    In the heart of Switzerland
    That's not normal, usually it says something about pixelserv not starting for a reason.
    What happens if you enter ps again?
     
  20. Miggy

    Miggy New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Same. It will not start :(
     

Share This Page