Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AB-Solution - The Ad Blocking Solution (v3.9.2)

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by thelonelycoder, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. halex4u

    halex4u Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Thank you very much #thelonelycoder. That done the trick.

    I will make a donation.
     
    thelonelycoder likes this.
  2. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I'm just glad you got your ad-blocking working again ;)
    I have no idea why the update changed it.
    A future AB update will add an empty line at the top as well, just to be sure 'foreign' scripts don't mess up my scripts.
     
    adie and halex4u like this.
  3. eighteen

    eighteen Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Hello.

    I'm using the list adsbegone! and in the Speedtest app for iOS at the end of the test it show advertising!

    Strange with the list I'm using, do not you think?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I don't think this ad is strange. They likely serve it from their own servers.
    Plus, it's a lovely ad, not as abnoxious as others...
     
  5. bayern1975

    bayern1975 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    547
    I never got any ads when using speedtest app on my phone with ab-solution....
     
  6. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    That might depend on what blocking file type is used.
     
  7. shooter40sw

    shooter40sw Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    It seems strange because adbsbegone is my list with other lists, and with my list the speedtest is clean on android.

     
  8. Wutikorn

    Wutikorn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Thailand
    Just want to say that AB-Solution 3.6.5 makes it much better to understand email stats and help me a lot more about which devices might have a problem. I just got stats for the first time after the upgrade, and found one device which is in the top ten noisiest clients, which has ten out of ten of the most requested sites to be blocked(new feature of AB-Solution 3.6.5 that tell which websites in stats are blocked). I might tell the device's owner about this to check if sth is wrong. However, I wonder why does it use IP to create stats, shouldn't it be using MAC-address as IPs change over time? Half of the devices are shown as "Name-N/A", is that because it's the first week?

    Just a feature suggestion, not that necessary, if the stats can tell which websites are ads and which are malicious, based on which host files are used to block it, would be great helping to make sure that if devices attempt malicious websites several times, we will be able to check it further. Or even better, add additional part saying which devices access malicious websites for how many times.
     
  9. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    You are pushing the topic. Be happy to have the device name shown. If the router shows the name, then so does AB, and read the hint that AB can only know the device name if the router still has it stored somewhere at time of stats compiling.
    Edit: Dnsmasq logs the IP address only, not the MAC address in the logfile. The MAC address is only available through the ipleases file on the router, the same file AB gets the devices name from.
    Noted, no promise.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
    Wutikorn likes this.
  10. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    @all router stats users:
    Some domains may be falsely marked as (blocked) in the stats report. I will push an update for the addon file as soon as time permits.
     
    visortgw likes this.
  11. wer55

    wer55 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I really hoped this new version could work in AP mode, but seems like I have to wait a little more:

    Error: Router is Access Point (AP) or Media Bridge mode,
    AB-Solution cannot work in this mode.
     
  12. visortgw

    visortgw Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    It makes no sense to run AB-Solution in AP mode as you are not running a DNS server -- that is taken care of by the primary router.
     
    heysoundude likes this.
  13. wer55

    wer55 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    At least wired devices can use it, like Pi-Hole now.
     
  14. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Only the "Wireless router mode (Default)" runs Dnsmasq, in all the others it is not used.
    Without it, AB-Solution cannot work as this is how AB works.
    To make this clear: No AB version change will make that magically happen, the Dnsmasq Server running on the router is a requirement.
     
    Wutikorn likes this.
  15. steelskinz

    steelskinz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    France
    Could someone explain what is domain-needed in experimental settings ?

    Also what is wanduck ?

    Thanks.
     
  16. Diamond67

    Diamond67 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Actually, after a bit more testing and using several apps of my Sony TV, I noticed the constant need to add lines to the whitelist. So, eventually I decided to exclude my television from ad blocking using these instructions by thelonelycoder:
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/r...d-blocking-solution.35540/page-15#post-290921

     
    thelonelycoder likes this.
  17. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Some queries by local clients for local clients name/IP are forwarded upstream as well, instead only local resolving by dnsmasq.
    This may be the case if you have Apple devices in yor network.
    You would see these in the log file as well as the stats (if they are frequent).

    Forget Wanduck, latest Asuswrt-Merlin is free from the bug Asus introduced in some of their code.
     
  18. halex4u

    halex4u Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    You got a chocolate from my part!

    Thx!
     
    thelonelycoder likes this.
  19. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,305
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I'll see to it that it gets shared equally!
    With me getting the lion share :D
     
  20. HawkInOz

    HawkInOz Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Is it possible to get even more detail in the weekly 'Router Stats' email by increasing all of the 'Top 10' lists to 'Top 20' lists? Is this something that I can easily tweak myself?
     

Share This Page