What's new

Absolute beginner with basic questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Dave Harper

New Around Here
For several years I've been using Windows based systems at home and, in addition to cloud backup services, I back up my systems to local USB hard drives. A number of things are coming to a head; as a developer I've become increasingly disenchanted with Windows and Windows 10 has convinced me that Microsoft and I are headed in different directions. Thus, I've decided to migrate to Linux as my primary development platform, something I've used on and off since the early 90's. However, for the foreseeable future, my home network will consist of both Windows and Linux systems. Further, cloud backup hasn't worked out that well for me. The last few services I've used have either been bought out (with prices skyrocketing) or have abandoned the home user market. So, for the first time, I'm looking at the possibility of putting in a NAS. Only problem is I know absolutely nothing about them. I've been searching all over the web and can find a lot of information, but none of it seems to address the questions I have.

1) Can a NAS work with any remote OS? Obviously I'm most interested in Linux and Windows but there are certainly others, such as macOS, etc. It makes sense to me that it would but I've not been able to find any confirmation of this. In fact, just the opposite. Many of the systems I've been looking at, such as the Buffalo TeraStation 1400, specifically mention that supported operating systems consist of Mac OS X and various versions of Windows. No mention of Linux at all.