1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC-86U How to VPN Server?

Discussion in 'ASUS AC / AX Routers & Adapters' started by MaLu, Oct 13, 2018 at 5:00 AM.

  1. MaLu

    MaLu New Around Here

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    1
    I have a Asus Blue Cave wireless router connected to my modem and would like connect an Asus AC-86U to the Blue Cave to be my VPN server. How can I set both routers up so that I can login to the AC-86U VPN router from outside? Thank you
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. ApexRon

    ApexRon Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    I would connect AC86U to modem and Blue Cave (if you still need it) to AC86U. Not familiar with Blue Cave to tell you how to configure.
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,986
    Location:
    Canada
    The RT-AC86U is a far more capable router than the Blue Cave, I would also use that as your primary router.
     
    ApexRon likes this.
  5. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,606
    If you double NAT the AC86 behind your Blue Cave if will be extremly difficult (impossible??) to get the server working on the AC86.

    As others have suggested put the AC86 first and run the VPN server on it and then either use the Blue Cave as an AP or Double Nat it behind the AC86.
     
    ApexRon likes this.
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,986
    Location:
    Canada
    It's possible to use the OpenVPN server from a second router (I did it for a customer who needed a VPN server behind his locked down Bell router/modem), it's just not optimal in this particular case.
     
    ApexRon likes this.
  7. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,606
    Good to know as when I have tried I never got it functioning. I didn't spend a lot of time as really didn't have a reason to use it.
     
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,986
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't remember the details because it's been two or three years since I've configured this for a customer. The customer had moved to India for work, and wanted to still get access to Canadian geolocked content. I set up the router so he'd go through his son's Internet connection here to access that geolocked content.

    With newer firmware releases, you'd probably need to set this as allowing LAN + Internet access (since the real LAN would actually be on the WAN side of that second router). This is untested however.
     
  9. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,606
    When I have a chance I will give it a try on my secondary experimental network.

    It has been several years since I tried to set up a server and I remember that when I tried to do it previously using the GUI I got a message that no can do since the double NATed router didn't have a routable WAN IP.

    Thanks again for your suggestions on how to implement.
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,986
    Location:
    Canada
    It might complain but it should be fine. I've regularly do it here when testing things within my LAN. However since Asus now has a closed-source OpenVPN implementation, maybe they've changed that since then.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!