1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC1900P Signature updates is taking awhile

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Rob Q, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. Rob Q

    Rob Q Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Hey guys,
    I was just wondering, how long does it take for a signature to update?
    I've went to 'Firmware upgrade' and under 'Signature version' I've hit 'Check' and it's been sitting at 'Signature is updating' for awhile now. Should I be concerned?

    Signature version: 2.094 Updated : 2018/05/29 13:26
    Firmware version: Version : 3.0.0.4.384_32799-gfe72567
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Rob Q

    Rob Q Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Annndd much later on, this happened. :)
    Signature version:2.094 Updated : 2018/11/08 17:32
    It took so long that the web UI logged me out.
    Is that normal that it just sits there at 'updating' for a bit?
     
  4. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    USA
    I'd say not normal and would assume the delay was on the other end.

    My 86U is doing the same thing now. :rolleyes:

    OE
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2018
  5. GuruGuy

    GuruGuy Guest

    I've thought for a long time that there is a GUI bug on that tab. It often says "updating" but if you change tabs and then come back it will show updated. Something about changing tabs and coming back forces it to refresh and change the screen. I also noticed once when I updated the signature on that page, I rebooted and then went back to that tab and it showed it hadn't updated. Ran the update again, changed tabs and went back and it showed updated. Definitely some buggy behavior on that tab.
     
  6. Rob Q

    Rob Q Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    It's just for the TrendMicro AI Protection, right?
     
  7. Rob Q

    Rob Q Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Think Merlin's firmware would be more stable?
     
  8. GuruGuy

    GuruGuy Guest

    Yes, that's the tab I'm talking about. Don't see that behavior with the firmware update button
     
  9. GuruGuy

    GuruGuy Guest

    It's not unstable, just buggy. Regarding your question, I doubt it buy Merlin can answer
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,266
    Location:
    Canada
    Just ignore that. Your router will automatically update when new signatures are published by Asus.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!