1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ac3200 - which antennas pairs are 1:2.4 1:5.0 2:5.0

Discussion in 'ASUS AC / AX Routers & Adapters' started by consorts, Sep 15, 2018.

  1. consorts

    consorts New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    i'd like to leave one of the two 5.0ghz radios disabled and leave their antennas off
    but i don't know what radios go to which of the 2x3 antennas - can anyone help?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. skeal

    skeal Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Canada
    Sorry. Are you nuts? Why?
     
  4. RAH-66

    RAH-66 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    You router have 3хBCM43602, turn off one module and start to turn off the antenna, as the signal will deteriorate and you will understand.)))
     
  5. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,303
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Very odd that a 3-year-old router starts to get some sudden traction in the threads these days...

    Is there a blow out sale that folks need to be aware of???
     
  6. consorts

    consorts New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    so if in the firmware i disable one of the two 5ghz radios,
    nobody can divine which of the two antenna will fall to disuse?

    there are two radio chips on the left and one on the right,
    so does that mean the 2nd 5ghz radio is the one on the right?
    or are both 5ghz radio chips the two on the left - nobody knows?
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,377
    Location:
    UK
    As was pointed out previously this is a 3x3 device. 3 of the antennas are used by one the the 5GHz radios and the other 3 are dual-band 2.4/5GHZ.

    See the FCC test report (page 7) to see the layout and how they are used: https://fcc.io/MSQ/-RT0M00
     
  8. PDinDetroit

    PDinDetroit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    I might be too simplistic here, but you can disable the radio in the Router UI.
    1. Go to Advanced Settings->Wireless->Professional
    2. Use the Band Drop-down List to select whatever 5 GHz radio you wish to disable
    3. Select the No option for Enable Radio
    4. Click the Apply button
    That will disable a 5 GHz radio without taking the router apart and unplugging antennas.
     
  9. consorts

    consorts New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    ok, fine - so which 3 are physically used solely by the one 5ghz. i'd like to know which of the
    two 5ghz radio to disable in the asus firmware and which 3 antenna to unscrew and remove.

    in the photo the positions are from left to right; yellow white red green black blue
    so am i correct in assuming the 3 to the one 5ghz is wired to red black and blue?
    if yes, then which of the two 5ghz radios is that in the firmware, the first or the second?
     
  10. ApexRon

    ApexRon Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    139
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    I apologize that I don't know the answer but to go to what skeal asked, "why?"
     
    Flying Dutchman likes this.
  11. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,377
    Location:
    UK
    @consorts Just follow the link I gave in post #6 and look at the document I mentioned. All the information is there.
     
    Flying Dutchman likes this.
  12. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,303
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Don't worry so much - as advised, turn off one of the radios, and your question is answered - putting a radio without an antenna can actually damage that radio - it needs a load...

    RP-SMA_dummy.jpg

    You can find these on the Amazon...

    Search for "DHT Electronics RP-SMA"

    they're about 5 bucks shipped in the US..
     
    RMerlin likes this.
  13. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Wouldn't it be much easier to just test it (for short time it should be ok)?
    Remove either 3 antennas coming from left or right side on PCB, use Wifi-app on mobile or PC, if you loose 2.4G or going down 20dB in signal strenght than disconnect the other side.
    Now you can disable higher band (149-165) 5G, lower band (ch.36-48) is together with 2.4G antennas.

    But you would prefer to use higher band with seperated antennas, as you may see they have more TXpower.
    So you will need all antennas and only disable 5G lower band in GUI.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!