1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC56U clears OpenVPN Policy Routing when I upload new config

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by MRizkBV, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. MRizkBV

    MRizkBV Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Since I updated to 384+ and the router will delete all custom configs when I upload a new .ovpn file. This never used to be the case on 380.
     
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,299
    Location:
    Canada
    Working as intended, and probably always worked that way as well.
     
    skeal likes this.
  3. MRizkBV

    MRizkBV Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    But this is never the case for me on any of the 360.x softwares. I can change the servers by uploading new .ovpn multiple times a day and it never resets the policy routing table or even the client name.

    This matters a lot to me because I have a ton of policy routing entries (around 250) and retyping them all just because the DPI where I live blacklisted an IP is a huge hassle. This is why I had to roll back to the 360.x but I am not sure what I'll do when I upgrade to the new RT-AX88U soon :/
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28,299
    Location:
    Canada
    If it didn't then it was a bug that was fixed at one point. An ovpn upload will always do a reset to default settings to ensure that settings are in a known state.

    There is no practical reason for someone to need to reupload an entire ovpn configuration "multiple times a day". You even have five different clients to configure with different settings if needed.