1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC66U-B1 Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384_32738

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Ken Atkinson, Aug 14, 2018.

  1. Ken Atkinson

    Ken Atkinson Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384_32738
    - Release Note -

    AiMesh new features:
    - Supported creating mesh system with new router, BlueCave.
    - Added Roaming block list in Advanced Settings --> Wireless.
    You can add devices into block list and this device will not be roamed between AiMesh nodes.
    - Supported ethernet onboarding. User can use ethernet cable.
    You can use ethernet cable to connect AiMesh router LAN port and AiMesh node WAN port first and run the adding node process to build the mesh system.

    Security fixes:
    - Fixed Reflected XSS vulnerability.
    - Fixed CSRF vulnerability.
    - Fixed command injection vulnerability.
    - Fixed stack buffer overflow vulnerability.
    Thanks for Rick Ramgattie contribution.

    Bug fixed and Enhancements:
    - Fixed USB hard drive over 2TB compatibility issues.
    - Fixed Samba/FTP folder permission issues.
    - Added USB3.0/2.0 mode switch setting in Administration --> System --> USB Settings.
     
    Grisu and maxbraketorque like this.
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Thanks, running well so far on my 68U, device list seems to be more stable now.
     
  4. KnowsMuch

    KnowsMuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    This sounds promising. Where do I get a copy?
     
  5. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
    HowIFix and KnowsMuch like this.
  6. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    550
    Still no SMB2.

    Sent from my P01M using Tapatalk
     
  7. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    does it still appear to be a 68U in the setup?
     
  8. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    sure, as I said, they are all bit-ident, only different names, you could name it 123.trx as well for upload, absolutely of no relevance.
     
    HowIFix likes this.
  9. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Yep, and the asus site now has this for the ac68u
     
  10. Gitsum

    Gitsum Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Hopefully the rest of the AiMesh routers will receive update soon.
     
  11. DummyPLUG

    DummyPLUG Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    109
    About roaming block list, what happen if the device connect to a weak signal AP first? I think the roaming block list will be more useful if we can lock down which AP the device can connect to.
     
  12. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    soon

     
  13. bacon612

    bacon612 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Agreed. You should be able to select the device Mac addresses and assign it to a specific node. This would help a few of my clients connect to specific nodes that get a great signal, use MuMiMo (as only my main router supports it) and load balance the network a little. This would be especially useful for clients that stay in one spot and do not physically move around the network.

    Sent from my LG-US998 using Tapatalk
     
  14. Stephen Harrington

    Stephen Harrington Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Pretty much what many of us have been asking for since the early days of the AIMesh beta releases, so either Asus just don’t “get it” or they can’t or don’t want to do it?
     
  15. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    595
    Why device connect to a "week signal" AP first? When you locked down, your specified device can't connect to other AP anymore.
     
  16. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Because you come home and first floor node got better outdoor coverage and so you're locked to this while you only stay downstairs where you want to be connected all the time!

    I see really no need for disabling roaming but a large need for locking devices to a defined nodes,
    mostly for stationary devices.

    Or more simple case, you are in the kitchen connected to 2G, turn on microwave ofen and loose connection but still see weak first floor router 5G, so you are locked to the other node no chance to go back.
     
  17. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    595
    For the microwave case, how do you think to disable the 2G service? BTW, it's a simple case study.

    For the locked device with specific nodes, the device can't connect with other nodes (none specific nodes), correct?
    If the specific nodes crashed, the device can't connect anymore. Correct?
     
  18. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    2G is needed for coverage, so usually needed all the time.
    And as each band is limited to an amount of clients we need it to put them on different channels.

    Yes would be correct, then one or the other wont have connection anymore, but the rest still working well.
    If they would roam to the other node this will crash because too many clients want to connect.

    This are advanced features of course and not standard implementation of Aimesh!

    How would you describe the usage of the new feature to disable roaming?
    What are the benefits of it?
    In which case and how would you use it?
     
  19. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    595
    I think this is roaming case with load balance.

    Client Device can handle his wifi connectivity without AiMesh roaming control.
     
  20. igotthis1

    igotthis1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    WiFi calling with AiMesh in your home makes WiFi calling unusable because the call drops when the device switches access points. I changed all my ASUS devices back to repeaters with separate SSID's just to resolve this WiFi calling issue. In theory, now that I can isolate our cell phones to our primary main floor access point this should resolve the dropped call issue. The only problem this doesn't fix is now the phones won't connect to my basement access point to have great coverage behind my house at our pool. So it fixes one issue and introduces a new one. I'm thinking I may just leave my configuration the way it is, keeping the family happy at the moment.
     
  21. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    USA
    iOS?

    OE
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!