1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC68U fell off the AiMesh node from AC86U router..2nd time

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by jpthsd, Jun 5, 2020.

  1. jpthsd

    jpthsd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Hello,
    Anyone seen this? AC86U router, AC68U Aimesh Node, both are 384.17 (upgraded to 384.17, restore default manufacturer, even hard reset as well)..

    1st time happened on Tuesday, AC68U just fell out the AiMesh node and on AC86U reported Offline but it was still working (wifi client still connected to the AC68U AiMesh Node). So I had to remove it and rejoin the AC68 to AiMesh again.

    Today, it just suddenly fell off again as shown in the screenshot. Anyone experience and solve this?

    This is what I found in the log, it looks like the AC68U tried to obtain the DHCP again,,,maybe I need to reserve it as AiMesh node?

    Appreciate any input and help!

    Jun 5 13:19:59 dnsmasq-dhcp[943]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50
    Jun 5 13:19:59 dnsmasq-dhcp[943]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50
    Jun 5 13:19:59 dnsmasq-dhcp[943]: DHCPDISCOVER(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50
    Jun 5 13:19:59 dnsmasq-dhcp[943]: DHCPOFFER(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50
    Jun 5 13:20:00 dnsmasq-dhcp[943]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50
    Jun 5 13:20:00 dnsmasq-dhcp[943]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50 RT-AC68U-1050
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jpthsd

    jpthsd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    by the time I was writing this thread, the AiMesh node reported Online again...it looks like the cycle on & offline while DHCP renewal process...I just created reserved for the RT-AC68U's MAC..hope it won't happen again or maybe this is the norm??

    Anyone?
     
  3. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    USA
    Wireless backhaul? How far? How noisy around you? How strong are the 2.4/5.0 backhaul RSSI/Tx/Rx values for the node MACs in the Wireless Log? Is the 86U using different SSIDs?

    OE
     
  4. jpthsd

    jpthsd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    About 30 feet away, 2 walls, and yes Wireless backhaul. Aimesh's been reporting full strenth/excellent strength.

    Nope, single Wifi SSID.

    The MAC below is the 5G MAC of the AC68U

    AC:9E:17:7F:10:54 Yes Yes -61dBm ac No Yes Yes No 3 866.7M 866.7M 03:16:03
     
  5. jpthsd

    jpthsd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Interesting while AiMesh Node AC68U reported Offline in AC86U admin portal, Internet still worked for those wifi client connected to that AiMesh node..it was like 5-10 mins the AiMesh node AC68U reported Online again the exact the time it was reported in the logs..
     
  6. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2,749
    Location:
    USA
    I would want to try different SSIDs (and fixed and various channels). Then stock firmware.

    OE
     
  7. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,214
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Flash the AC86U to Asus 384.81918. Use Dual Band SmartConnect with fixed 2.4 and 5 GHZ channels. Flash the AC68U to Asus firmware, too. Set up AiMesh and it should have no issues.
     
  8. MarkyPancake

    MarkyPancake Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    I'm pretty sure the 68U doesn't support Smart Connect, so not sure your usual setup will work here.
     
  9. jpthsd

    jpthsd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    Actually, when AC68U flashed to latest Asuswrt , it does have Smart Connect on/off menu. But it doesn't mean it will support it or not lol,,,you're right, it is not on the list!

    https://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1012132/
     
  10. jpthsd

    jpthsd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    It's been using 5Ghz as backhaul but I do not use band steering ,,,by having each 2.4 & 5Ghz its own SSID, I am easily controlling. ...plus AC68U doesn't support Smart Connect!

    Maybe I get another AC86U and then follow you suggestion later :)

    So far, I created DHCP reservation for AC68U AiMesh Node,,,seems to work well!
     
  11. jpthsd

    jpthsd Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    47
    This should be resolved. It's been almost 3 days, no re-occurrence!

    I think the DHCP might have caused the on/off of the AiMesh Node plus the signal integrity, strength checkup as well!

    The logs be low showed that times to times, the AiMesh node being checked if the signal strength strong enough to be wireless backhaul plus DHCP ack ..etc

    Thus, DHCP reservation for the AiMesh node seemed to help as well!!

    Thank you everyone! Hope it helps if someone has the same issue like mine :)

    DHCP ack
    Jun 7 13:20:00 dnsmasq-dhcp[29216]: DHCPREQUEST(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50
    Jun 7 13:20:00 dnsmasq-dhcp[29216]: DHCPACK(br0) 192.168.200.55 ac:9e:17:7f:10:50 RT-AC68U

    Signal integrity/strength/roam check
    Jun 7 23:15:04 roamast: determine candidate node [AC:9E:17:7F:10:50](rssi: -52dbm) for client [04:DB:56:26:6E:D8](rssi: -71dbm) to roam
     
  12. ChoppedBroccoli

    ChoppedBroccoli New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Question - did you set up DHCP reservation for the RT-68U on its 5GHz MAC, its 2.4Ghz MAC, or the MAC address that shows up under Network Map->AiMesh node->Click on node->Click 'More config'? I'm guessing you chose the MAC address and IP address listed under the AiMesh node config?
    For now I'm going to choose MAC+IP under AiMesh node config and see how that works...




    My setup is Main node 68U on merlin 384.18 and one 68U node on ASUS 33.0.0.4.385_20490-g57b06ea with wireless backhaul.

    Airtime fairness off, fixed channels (8oMHZ, Ch 40 on 5GHZ / 20MHZ, Ch 8 on 2.4GHZ), airtime fairness and universal disabled, roaming assistant enabled and at -62db on both.

    I have fantastic speed and coverage, but the AiMesh node just kicks off intermittently while the main node is completely fine. It doesn't matter if I place the node in 4-5 bar range (5G -55b, 2G -40db) or 2-3 bar range (5G -65db, 2G -50db) same result.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2020 at 4:29 PM