What's new

AC68U on Frontier FIOs Lower UL/DL Speeds than MI424WR?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ajax

Occasional Visitor
I've been running our home network for several years on an AC68U and I've really enjoyed it. I have several wireless devices, but my primary system, and the system I'm doing my investigating with, is wired directly to the router. My service from the ONT is Ethernet.

Recently, I had to upgrade my service level with Frontier because they no longer wanted to support their 30/30 customers. So I took the next lowest service of 50/50, but I've only been able to achieve 30/30 with every test. I've called Frontier a couple times and they'd fix something and I'd briefly see the 50/50 speeds, but then it would go back.

Today I decided to pull out the Actiontec M1424WR (Rev I) router they supplied me and to my surprise I was consistently testing at 50/50. So I switched back to the AC68U and I'm right back to 30/30.

I don't want to assume Frontier is deliberately sandbagging non-branded routers and I recognize that I'm "on my own" when I choose to use my own router so I'm seeking advice about how I can fix this so I can continue to use the AC68U.

Many thanks!

It might be a provisioning issue (I have no idea whether that applies to your ISP). Your account (and associated line speed) might be linked to the MAC address of the router they supplied (the Actiontec).

Find out the MAC address of the Actiontec's WAN port and clone that onto the WAN interface of the Asus.

That seems easy enough, I can give that a try. It does make me wonder though if there's something I could ask Frontier to get them to update the MAC in their system.