What's new

AC68u router reporting wrong WAN IP

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

johnlepdx

New Around Here
Hey SNB,

I'm a noob at this and I don't know how to address/ fix the issue. My internet has been acting kind of funky and my ISP said that comcast technicians were plugging their equipment into my buildings switch. It caused intermittent issues and after a long phone call with my ISP, they supposedly fixed it. My VOIP service is unstable. and I need it for school. My current issues are that

1. Router reports a completely different IP from my service. My router reports a comcast IP but when I do a speed test or go to a website to grab my IP, it reports the correct IP
    1. 100.65.X.X (COMCAST) vs 64.112.x.x (ACTUAL IP)
  2. CONNMON reports low ping/ jitter but internet quality is between 41-45% consistently
  3. pinged 8.8.8.8 from the router
    1. --- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
      379 packets transmitted, 379 packets received, 377 duplicates, 0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 7.570/7.874/12.027 ms

Hardware:
AC68U - router is acting as a wired router (disabled wireless) w/ diversion, skynet, unbound, and various scripts
AC68U - wireless access point
Linksys - wireless access point
All the access points are directly wired in.

Is there anyway I can force my router to just pull from my actual ISP and force the traffic that way instead of using the comcast IP. My downloads are going fine and everything seems like it works except for my VOIP service. I don't do any heavy uploading (or usually don't). Is this an issue I can solve on my side or do I have to talk to my ISP. Thanks ahead of time for the help!