Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC68U Router with Huawei HG612 Modem on Infinity

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by bapesta786, Apr 21, 2017.

  1. bapesta786

    bapesta786 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Hi there, just having a little difficulty in getting this setup to work on my BT Infinity Fibre. I want to stop using the BT provided HomeHub and replace with my Asus Router, and Huawei HG612. I had a similar setup in my previous setup on Sky Fibre :)

    Can anyone advise what the settings should be on both the router, and on the HG612 modem. The modem is unlocked with web interface installed.

    Below is my settings on the Asus.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. bandit8623

    bandit8623 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    are u sure its a ppoe authentication? Could be a dynamic?

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  3. bandit8623

    bandit8623 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Also do you need a vlan? Possibly VLAN of 101?

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  4. bapesta786

    bapesta786 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Hey, see my Openreach modem settings below:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. bandit8623

    bandit8623 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Is this gpon fiber service? If so you would connect the asus directly to the ont. No modem needed. Sorry im not familiar with your service name

    If its vdsl then you should be able to put the modem into transparent bridging. And let the asus do all the routing. Look like you have the modem doing alot of the work there. But im not familiar with that modem at all.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  6. Hozz

    Hozz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    I use the same modem with my Asus AC68U and BT Infinity.
    The only thing you need to watch is the login and password.
    I found I needed to use my main bt email address and password as the login.
    I have enable UPnP ticked but I don't have the port ranges specified.
    Otherwise everything is the same and works perfectly.
     

Share This Page