Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC68U stuck on 378.55 can't upgrade

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Nexx, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. Nexx

    Nexx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    I've searched but didn't see this problem posted.
    Got a unique problem.
    I have an new AC68U which I was able to upgrade to Merlin 378.55 however I can't upgrade to any 380.xx firmware.
    I have tried re-flashing the 378.55 to make sure its fully on there.
    Next factory reset
    Then flash 380.67 but for some reason after it completes, the main screen still shows the old 378.55.
    I'm at a loss after many hours troubleshooting this. Please any help appreciated.
    Thanks.
     
  2. joegreat

    joegreat Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,438
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Firmware update fails typically on memory shortage - remove USB devices and reboot - or do a factory reset and a minimal config and then try again.

    To save/restore the settings you can use John's Backup/Restore tool.
     
  3. Nexx

    Nexx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the info. I followed the steps & removed USB drive, but getting the same outcome. Still showing old 378.55.
    The status of the Restoration tool shows "Failed to recover the system" after the firmware upload completes. Any ideas?
     
  4. martinr

    martinr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    From Our Leader's Installation page at
    https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-merlin/wiki/Installation

    "It's recommended to reboot the router BEFORE flashing it, to free up sufficient memory. Otherwise, there's a chance the router might reject the firmware, due to running too low of free RAM."

    Do have a careful read of the whole of Merlin's instructions at that link. I do think that if you persevere you should manage it.

    And please report back, especially when you've solved it, because your experience will certainly help others in future.

    Good luck.
     
  5. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,703
    Location:
    United States
  6. Nexx

    Nexx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    I am not using USB drive at this point. I just download the firmware to my PC and run the update using the tool and point to firmware on my PC. Yes I did reboot.
     
  7. Nexx

    Nexx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    No, This router is brand new from Tmobile. It's actually the TM-AC1900 which I flashed over to AC68U. I never flashed it with any other firmware but Asus to enable telnet then Merlin's.
     
  8. Nexx

    Nexx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    The router is in an off state before I start the update.
    Also I do not have a usb drive connected to the router. I am running the update from my laptop only using the tool.
    If there is another procedure to run the update from the USB drive in the router please let me know.
    Thanks again.
     
  9. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    4,703
    Location:
    United States
    Did you follow the procedure to change the CFE first (search for the links). If not, you are locked to only being able to use T-Mobile compatible firmware after the first time you flashed Merlin.
     
  10. Nexx

    Nexx New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    SUCCESS GUYS!!!!!
    It just worked!!

    I don't understand how or why it worked it just did....
    This time I just connected the USB drive with 380.67 into the router
    next logged into router web page
    then Administration > Firmware upgrade
    browsed to 380.67 which was on my PC
    then click UpLoad, router rebooted and viola!!!
     
    Sanna1967 likes this.
  11. martinr

    martinr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    What did I tell you?

    "I do think that if you persevere you should manage it."

    Well done. Welcome to the
    club. And if as I'm sure, you're delighted with it, have a look at he sticky post
    "The Merlin Donation Thread".
     

Share This Page