What's new

Access layer switch + Wi-Fi router or integrated service router (Cisco RV series) for a student

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

parthmaniar

New Around Here
Hello, I'm a self-funded student reading for MSc in Cybersecurity. My research and work involve heavy local network usage.

I currently have a single Netgear R7000, which has 4x1Gbps ports. All of the ports are divided between a Dell workstation with two NICs and a Synology NAS. I see my homelab growing as my work progresses. I have 7 Raspberry Pis running different workloads & around 21 Wi-Fi clients at home (including the Pis)

My requirements are:

If both these requirements can be met with a single device such as the Cisco integrated service routers, it would be preferential.
  1. At the least 16 x 1 Gbps ports and preferably higher throughput 10G uplink ports for future use.
  2. VLANs and L3 routing capabilities for segregation.
  3. I am not planning for a Cisco/vendor-centric certification. I am, however, interested in a good CLI based switch for learning.
  4. PoE isn't a mandate.
Most network services are hosted on a Raspberry Pi cluster on Kubernetes. Thsee include PiVPN & Pi-Hole running unbound for recursive DNS service. Hence I am not really looking for security services such as URL filtering, VPN access etc as part of the bundle.

Hence my question: Is it better to get a SG350-28 ports or is it more advisable to get a Cisco RV345 for my homelab?

As a self-funded student I have limited budget and while my homelab will continue to grow, what is a more prudent investment given my current state? I'm open to recommendations beyond Cisco.