Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Adding wired LAN connections via switch to RT AC87U

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Mathieu, Mar 20, 2017.

  1. Mathieu

    Mathieu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Hi all
    Apologies if this is not the right thread or the issue has already been dealt with (a cursory browsing didn't yield anything).

    I am running RMerlin 380.63_2 (will soon upgrade to 380.65_2) on an ASUS RT AC87U.

    I also happen to be running out of wired connections, and am thinking of plugging in a switch. My question is: are there any specific issues I should be mindful of with when doing so, and if the router/fw will be handling the new cabled connections as smoothly as it handles the existing ones?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. cliver

    cliver Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    I have the same set up here, albeit an AC68U. Most switches are "unmanaged" (automatic) these days. So, assuming yours is, just plug one port into your router as the others into your clients and at you go. The such will effectively be transparent and the router will do all the work. Assuming you aren't streaming HDTV through all the ports at the same time you are unlikely to notice much depreciation in performance although, of course, you will be sharing one port on your router with several clients so there will be some degrading in throughput, depending on the performance of the switch. I have a couple of generic, cheap switches that I use and they perform well for day to day use.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
    Mathieu likes this.
  3. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,487
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    try to stay away from the LAN1 port on the 87U - it's shared with the 5GHz radio (Quantenna) - LAN2-4 is running on the Broadcom SoC.
     
    Mathieu and joegreat like this.
  4. BMWDude49120

    BMWDude49120 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    I have five switches (3 managed and 2 unmanaged) behind my RT-AC88U and had the same setup behind my RT-AC87U previously. No issues at all.
     
    Mathieu and joegreat like this.
  5. Mathieu

    Mathieu Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Thank you guys. That is helpful.
     
  6. elorimer

    elorimer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    My experience is that it works fine, but I would use gigabit switches and gigabit cables to the arms of the starfish, and be alert to the specs of the switches (I had problems with an xbox 360 stuttering through a gig switch, fixed when I replaced it with another model).
     
    Mathieu likes this.
  7. mikelees2

    mikelees2 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    We do a lot of streaming as well as editing on our network. I'm using the ASUS RT-AC5300 router with link agg 802.3ad 2 port to a TrendNet TEG-240WS 24 port switch. It's very smooth with no bottlenecks. If you need the bandwidth you should be able to do the same thing using your router and a 802.3ad compatible switch.
    Also using Xbox and PS4 as well as steam computers with no problems.
     
    Mathieu likes this.

Share This Page