What's new

Advice on New Purchase

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jrak

New Around Here
I’ve been contemplating the purchase of an NAS for several months and would appreciate some advice and guidance. I've read the sticky and have looked at the reviews, but am a little overwhelmed by the amount of information on the website.

Presently, my home has 3 computers. The main computer is wired directly to my router (D-Link Dir 655). It is a six-month old computer that uses XP-Home. I use that computer for writing, video editing, and some software development. It has 3 hard drives with roughly a tetrabyte of storage.

The second computer is a desktop pc that uses XP-Home and is connected wirelessly. It has 3 hard drives with roughly ¾ tetrabytes of storage. That computer is used mostly for photo editing by my wife who has a fairly large photo collection.

The third is a laptop, mostly used for writing, PowerPoint presentations, and e-mail when I am on the road. It uses XP-Home.

I have a home-built server which uses Openfiler on a computer that is roughly 8 years old. I cobbled that together – mostly by trial and error – and while it works, I don’t trust it completely and have not been able to successfully add additional drives to it. It currently has about 300 megabytes of storage and is wired directly to the router. We also have hard-drives connected to our desktops via USB that are used for back-ups.