What's new

Advice - Wireless Routers with decent parental controls

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Bobgroups

New Around Here
Hi,

I'm new to upgrading routers. My cable router hardly has anything i can use for parental controls.

I wanted to do following:

1. easily be able to turn off all wifi in the house and leave only wired on - this would be on a schedule e.g. after 9pm off till 7am
2. Turn of wifi instantly for a child
3. pause wifi for a child for say 30mins in 1 click
4. restrict games sites - my child access roblox which is a accessed from a website and i want to restrict that. From the Microsoft family sharing restrictions I tried doing that but it only restricts games and not games run from a website
5. easy to use phone app with parental controls

I'm thinking of going for Asus as it seems the phone app is easy to use

Is the above possible on this router

ASUS RT-AC88U Wi-Fi AC3100 Dual-band Mesh Wifi system Router with 8 Gigabit LAN ports​

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B019MKO43M/?tag=smallncom-21

Thanks

Hi Bobgroups,

There are a number of threads in the Lan, Security, and Wireless forums that discuss this at length. The search option "parental control" should reveal a few.

thanks I will do that. I was also wondering what's the best way to find out what the parental controls are like on that particular router before I commit to buy it. One of the things i would definitely want is schedule wifi to go off at set times.

Worst case, use a separate AP for wireless with a wall timer to kill the power.