What's new

AiMesh and Smart Connect

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

helloguys

Occasional Visitor
I searched but couldn't get a definite answer.

Smart Connect (band steering) is not supported on older models such as RT-AC68U. What if we use a newer model as AiMesh router and enable Smart Connect, then use older model as AiMesh node? For instance, use RT-AC86U as AiMesh router (with Smart Connect enabled) and RT-AC68U as AiMesh node.

I'm only seeing one SSID in the above setup. But I'm not technical enough to tell if it's 2.4GHz, 5GHz, or both. Anyone has any idea? Thanks!

I searched but couldn't get a definite answer.

Smart Connect (band steering) is not supported on older models such as RT-AC68U. What if we use a newer model as AiMesh router and enable Smart Connect, then use older model as AiMesh node? For instance, use RT-AC86U as AiMesh router (with Smart Connect enabled) and RT-AC68U as AiMesh node.

I'm only seeing one SSID in the above setup. But I'm not technical enough to tell if it's 2.4GHz, 5GHz, or both. Anyone has any idea? Thanks!

With no Smart Connect operating on the AC68U node hardware, it remains for your clients to decide which 'same SSID/band' to connect to... are they connecting quickly to the preferred band? If not, then Smart Connect node hardware might help.

OE

I used an AC68U for few years as node. When roaming from router 5GHz to node, I never encountered client to roam to 2.4GHz. Most of the clients that are roaming are new'ish devices so that may be one reason.