1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AiMesh - phones only disconnect

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by adambean, May 29, 2018.

  1. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Hey all,

    Have a GT5300, AC5300 and 66u B1 in a mesh setup. Everything is relatively stable, except on our phones (Note 8 and S8). Sometimes going from 2nd floor to basement our inside to outside, we lose internet but still remain on WiFi (wifi symbol shows an exclamation point).

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    USA
    I suspect the ! indicates poor or no WiFi signal, at least according to some threshold defined by the device. And thus, no Internet. You likely see the same indicator when you are in the presence of new WiFi you have not yet authenticated with.

    I found this:

    "On the s8, this is what the ! is intended for. When your signal is too low, it will stop it until it is good enough quality. Deemed by whatever dbm Samsung has set. It only disconnects when smart network switch is turned on. When it is turned off, you will still get the ! Which is just saying that the connection is not favorable and will be slow, so you should move closer to the router."

    So, you could use a WiFi Analyzer app to survey the WiFi signal strength in your ! areas. And, look for a Samsung Smart Network switch to turn OFF. And, perhaps adjust your node coverage.

    OR it's something else! :)

    OE
     
  3. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    606
    Could you send feedback with system log ,wifi log by feedback function ?
     
  4. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks, should have specified. The signal is always very strong. Even when walking back to a stronger area, exclamation remains with no connectivity. Disconnecting and reconnecting immediately fixes the problem.

    It's almost as if when I jump routers that I lose my connection but only sometimes..
     
  5. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    760
    Location:
    USA
    Ah, strong signal rules that out.

    Have you tried forgetting and remaking the connection?

    And it doesn't happen to other wireless clients, just those two?

    OE
     
  6. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    They're the only two devices that we roam the house with no other devices have any connectivity issues. So it seems to be something with a bad hop between routers?
     
  7. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,294
    try to disable airtime fairness 2G and 5G to see if it will help and universal beamforming as well.
     
  8. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    So perfect example.

    Took dog outside, lost internet (got exclamation point but still well within range.

    Came back inside perfectly strong signal, exclamation remains ... No internet. Disconnected/reconnected, all is well.

    Looking now for airtime fairness and beamforming.
     
  9. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,294
    use a Wifi analyzer or for PC acrylic wifi home and look whether all routers use exactly same channels and SSID on 2G and 5G. Maybe one got different region setting and so not working as it should.
     
  10. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Should I disable both universal and 802.11ac beamforming?
     
  11. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Also appears that disabling airtime fairness and/or universal beamforming is kicking my Ac66u B1 out as a node? Had to manually reset the router rejoin, re-applied the settings and it was kicked out again?
     
  12. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,294
    think you have to wait for better AiMesh support in future firms to solve your problems.
    It still is quite beta, for some its already working enough.
     
  13. bogdi1988

    bogdi1988 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Take a look at your router channels. I was seeing this and it looked like the router was changing primary channel on 5G from like 40 to 36, etc (due to interference or too many networks in the vicinity) and at that point I was getting the exclamation mark and needed to reconnect the device to the network to get internet back up again. It is pretty frustrating that even in Smart Connect you can't choose which channels the router will use.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  14. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Disabling airtime fairness and beamforming unfortunately have not helped. Same symptoms exist. Take the dog out back, have internet. Walk around the house, strong (enough, - 50db) signal remains but exclamation point shows up and I lose connection.

    Any thoughts?
     
  15. bogdi1988

    bogdi1988 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Gotta add this. I moved my router to a different room (and updated to latest version) and I have had a LOT better wireless experience. Looks like the router was getting interference from all the tech equipment in my office.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  16. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    606
    Which device is Main router ? RT-AC5300 or GT-AC5300 ?
     
  17. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    GT-AC5300
     
  18. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    I'm gonna call Asus tomorrow but anyone else have suggestions? This is crazy frustrating and makes me want to sell these and go with a proper mesh system.
     
  19. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    606
    Have you seed the feature with system log, WiFi log by WebUI Feedback function ?
     
  20. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Continued to experiment last couple days. Thought maybe the lack of the second 5ghz channel or power or the ac66u was a culprit... So took it out as a node. No positive gain.

    After I disabled smart connect, I did see positive change. Even though I have times where I get the exclamation point (like walking around yard, clearly hoping to a new node) a few seconds later or so, I regain internet; whereas before I had to manually disconnect and reconnect.

    So not perfect and sucks not being able to use smart connect but progress. Still want to call Asus.