What's new

AImesh the same old mess?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Raphie

I’m really struggling to understand what it is exactly that AImesh brings to the table beyond “central management” and “automated” configuration.

I’ve been using wireless for 20 years now, the dream being using 1 ssid between different devices and different bands, having coverage in the house with all devices just magically bonding to the best band on the best router or access point.

Reality has been very different, devices not wanting to switch to the most optimal access point, keeping their connection with the router when basically being out of reach, 5g devices, still prefering 2.4g connections etc .etc.

WDS connections dropping, or sacrificing half of the bandwidth at best, still needing to lay down ethernet to access points to maintain performance.

Manual configuration options either not making a difference, or fixing connection issues for one device, while breaking another.

I guess my question is, on a protocol level, have these issues been improved/solved with AImesh, or is it merely a centralized configuration wizard, but all the typical home configuration/performance issues remain the same?

To me, the issue with AiMesh comes down to flexibility and stability.

When AiMesh works, it works well (as one would expect how a mesh network would work).

However, like many others, I do find that my AiMesh node (ethernet backhaul to the AiMesh router) disappears frequently. That's a stability issue and I hope with future firmware update it will (and can) be fixed.

Because of the centralized management, you also lose flexibility with what you can do with the node.

Other issues I have with AiMesh at the moment: