1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AiMesh - which second router? vs Competition?

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by adambean, Mar 10, 2018.

  1. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Hey all,

    I have an AC66u (v1) and an AC5300. Both are broadcasting 2.4/5 all on the same SSID, and this ... has been problematic. Random times where if on one router, it won't talk to the other. Random unavailability of internet. Just oddness. I'm now running solely on my AC5300 and so far, seems to be more stable.

    Anyway, I'd like a better setup either using AiMesh or one of the mesh competitors. I've played with eero (very feature-less), and Orbi (holy buggy/unstable!). Debating trying Google/Velop, but ... AiMesh seems like the best of both worlds to continue to use my AC5300.

    Assuming AiMesh is the best bet in this scenario, will the AC68u suffice or should I jump up higher?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. Kal-EL

    Kal-EL Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,410
    Location:
    Motor City, Michigan-USA
    Asus Aimesh is nothing more then a clever way to get people to purchase more and more Asus routers. The system is buggy and will likely be so for quite some time.
     
  4. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    418
    Location:
    USA
    AiMesh is a proprietary work-in-progress. It really makes no sense for ASUS to pursue this approach to a WiFi system if it is only going to leave their customers floundering. They seem to be all in... the hardware is there and always getting cheaper and better, so why not use it.

    The AC68U works but does not support SmartConnect band selection/steering within that node, which is a desirable function in a WiFi system. Maybe the AC68U doesn't have the processing/memory resources for it. I think the AC86U is the next generation build up from the AC68U... at higher cost... and it does support SmartConnect. So, you might want to consider the AC86U your minimum node spec.

    Without SmartConnect support system-wide, you may want to stick with unique SSIDs... a 2.4 SSID and a 5.0 SSID system-wide. And regardless of SmartConnect, with some wireless clients, you may want/need unique SSIDs... cheap/dumb clients are part of the problem for now.

    I have two AC68Us in an AiMesh (no SmartConnect). I experimented with using identical SSIDs (wasn't terrible) and then switched to unique SSIDS and concluded:
    o some wireless clients connect more quickly since I did the band steering for them;
    o some wireless clients are better at connecting to the better of two unique SSIDs than they are at connecting to the better of two identical SSIDs;
    o I spend less time assessing wireless client connections.

    For me, a bigger concern is that guest networks do not currently propagate to the nodes, so not system-wide. This may matter if you want to isolate untrustworthy IoT clients located at your perimeter.

    OE
     
  5. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    I think configuring your AC66u as a repeater wirelessly using the same SSID as your AC5300 is the best option. Works much better for me. I am now using AC5300 with two AC68u configured as wireless repeater. Note. You cannot connect them wired as there is a bug that conflicts with your main router dhcp.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    431
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I'll bet that you can, but you have to understand what DHCP is and that only one router on the network can have it turned on.
     
  7. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Why a repeater vs an access point if I'm wired?
     
  8. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    So, I think I'm gonna go for a ROG 5300, make that primary and my current 5300 an AP.

    This will cost $330 and probably overkill. Would it be 'better' to spend that money on Velop or another mesh setup?
     
  9. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Of course I know what a DHCP server is. What I am saying there is no option to turn it off or you would have assumed ASUS would have programmed it to be turned off when selecting the AP mode or Repeater mode because every nerd and his dog knows that the main router always almost has DHCP turned on to be able to assign IPs dynamically. Unless you manually assign the IPs. In this situation the repeater mode has its DHCP turned on.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    If you are prepared to replace your entire current setup with a new mesh system. Then yes. If you are trying to add mesh to your existing network then it is not a good idea. Even for ASUS Lyra - it cannot be added to your ROG5300 as an aimesh node. I only managed to configure the Lyra as an AP and the two other Lyra (total 3 in a set) as aimesh node connected to the primary Lyra.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    It is almost the same. But I do think the AP can be connected wired. While the repeater is wireless connection.

    But you will end up with multiple SSIDs as somehow the roaming tech is still not very good if you use the same SSID as your main router you may encounter connection/performance issues.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    431
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I guess we are looking at different configuration pages--or maybe this option exists only in John's Fork? See first attached image.
    Shot0001.png

    See second attached image.
    Shot0002.png
     
  13. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    So you're saying Lyra or something else, is a better investment than dual Ac5300's?
     
  14. xgrey

    xgrey Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Lyra is more stable and complete mesh system, but from the hardware side AC5300 is better.
     
  15. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Thanks, but still not certain which direction to take. Doesn't seem like Lyra gets all that good of reviews. Orbi seems to be the leader but I've bought it twice and have been riddled with issues to the point I've sworn them off.

    Would like to try Lyra and Velop. I guess what's the downside of AiMesh in comparison?

    Thanks
     
  16. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    The real question is: “what are you looking for in your WiFi network?” Performance or stability?

    Mesh WiFi is still in its infancy. Very much alpha stage not even beta. So if you want to be on the cutting edge and be ready to get your hands dirty in maintaining the system then go for it. If you want something cutting edge but stable - retire your rog ac5300 and get a set of Lyra - they work stubby more stable than the aimesh thingy using ASUS routers cobbled together but I don’t think performance is going to good. As my users complained slow internet speeds with Lyra.






    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. xgrey

    xgrey Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    I have Lyra from 3 weeks and for me is very stable and problem free, but as many review says when it comes to the speed of the backhaul connection Lyra is not that fast as other three band mesh systems. But for me more important is to have AiProtection and nice QOS witch Asus have an overall i'm satisfied.
     
    Vincent Wong likes this.
  18. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    You are looking at the menu from a wireless router configuration. When switch over to Repeater Mode there is no option which you would believe that DHCP is not functioning.

    upload_2018-3-13_0-5-9.png
     
  19. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    431
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    The description, at least in the firmware I am using, is on the "Administration" page the allows selecting "Repeater mode" or "Access Point mode"--not on the LAN page. Perhaps that explanation is missing from the OEM firmware.

    The image you posted pertains to that unit's IP Address, not its DHCP function.
     
  20. monaro-ds

    monaro-ds Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    83
    i have been using Access Point mode for about 9 moth , from 68U (WIFI router) 100 ft wire to 68U (WiFI Access Point mode ) to 66U (Media bridge) to Tivo mini

    till resent update to AiMesh 88U Wifi router to 2X68U node (1 Wifi + 1 Wire ) to 66U (Media bridge) to Tivo mini
     
  21. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    418
    Location:
    USA
    You waited too long... the AC86Us are selling out everywhere! :)

    OE
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!