What's new

Allow only Home Smart Devices on Access Point?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

username0475

Regular Contributor
I recently set up a TP-Link EAP225_v3 access point for the upstairs of my house to provide better coverage to my growing number of smart home WiFi light switches, doorbells, Amazon Echo's & robo vac.
Some of these smart home devices can only use the 2.4GHz band while others can use 5GHz also.

Upstairs access to this AP is - with any clients - thru a SSID & password.
Downstairs access is thru a Asus RT-AC68U - that serves as my main router & allows smart home devices thru a guest SSID & PW. It also powers the upstairs AP thru a PoE switch.

I'm fairly new to home network admin so you'll have to bear with me on these questions:

1) Is there a way to isolate these smart clients so their access to the AP cannot be manipulated to affect my main router where the AP is ultimately connected back to?

2) If yes to #1 - is that through a guest access (TP-L allows guest through a cumbersome portal setup using their controller software ) or through AP isolation?

3) Will AP isolation cause problems :
a. If I keep the SSID (for smart home devicesthe same for upstairs AP = my downstairs SSID for smart home devices (which is on the 68U's guest network) ?
b. For the Echo's to not to be able to see each other for concurrent multi-room music listening?​

Appreciate any feedback.

does the EAP225_v3 let you set up a guest network on it, as well? that would be the first thing I'd try (same SSID as your Asus's guest network).

AP isolation shouldn't cause a problem as long as the smart devices only need to talk to the internet and from the internet, and not chat amongst themselves.