Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Alpha] Asuswrt-Merlin 382.1 Alpha

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Sep 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,886
    Location:
    Canada
    171 commits later, I feel that the 382.1 Alpha code is finally in a usable enough state to provide preview builds for the new RT-AC86U. Note that this isn't as well tested as the usual alpha releases I provide, since I'm not using the RT-AC86U as my primary router yet (too much development work to be done on it).

    Make sure you read the included Changelog, for an overview of what changed between Asuswrt-Merlin 380.68 and 382.1, as well as to what was changed from Asus's 382_xxxx code to Asuswrt-Merlin 382.

    At this time, only the RT-AC86U is supported. Development hasn't begun yet on any other models, so there is no ETA at all regarding support for other models.

    This is still at the alpha stage, so expect a lot of things to still change between now and the first beta release.

    For more background on this release, I recommend checking this thread.

    Downloads are available in the Test Builds folder.

    The Asuswrt-Merlin 382.xxx code is in a new, separate Github repository. The toolchain is also in its own repository.
     
  2. jim769

    jim769 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    USA, Michigan
    Doubt there are more then a person or two that even have that router as of yet. Hope i am wrong anything to get you closer to supporting the other models. ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2017
  3. .TT.

    .TT. Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Running alpha on mine now. NO crashes yet ;)
    So far the vpn seems a bit problematic. I can not get policy rules to work. (redirect all/no works). Possibly just inexperience on my part.
    Thanks for putting in the effort @RMerlin. Glad to see you decided to support this model.
     
  4. cmkelley

    cmkelley Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Just a question, maybe asked already and I missed it, if so, sorry. Are you anticipating further updates (on your part and/or ASUS) to the 380 codebase for older models? In other words might we see a 380.69 or higher for older models? Not complaining or anything, regardless of your answer, just curious about direction. Sounds like 382 is so different that if so you'll end up effectively supporting two separate codebases until 382 is released for all models.

    Do I understand correctly that you're at ASUS' mercy for the 382 codebase for any given model?
     
  5. KnightRider

    KnightRider Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    18

    Am considering getting one of these in replacement of my AC68U in AP mode. In your opinion is there going to be much advantage to replacing it? What are you thoughts?
     
  6. LouisvilleUK

    LouisvilleUK Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    When using Cipher Negotiation drop down options “Enable (with fallback)” or “Enable” the “Negotiable ciphers” use to have default values but is now blank.

    I’m also not seeing the OpenVPN policy routing working. And in an attempt to see if a reboot would help, the reboot erased my custom line items in Custom Configuration.
     
  7. DaveMishSr

    DaveMishSr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    San Diego
    I won't be rushing out to buy the RT-AC86U. Not until my current router enters Valhalla.
     
    Chris313AllNight and Makaveli like this.
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,886
    Location:
    Canada
    You won't see much difference for an AP.
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,886
    Location:
    Canada
    Asus is going to gradually move those routers to the 382 code base over the coming months, the RT-AC88U being the first one to be migrated. They don't have any timetable for the other models,but I assume it means there won't be any further 380 release for these.

    Regarding my personal plans, this is detailed in this post.

    Like with any other release. Many components are closed source, which means I need a new official release for any model I wish to support. I can't run newer code without a corresponding GPL release. This has already been the case for over a year now.
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,886
    Location:
    Canada
    Fixed - the default value was only set for servers, but not for clients (default was an empty list).

    Use "AES-256-GCM:AES-128-GCM:AES-256-CBC:AES-128-CBC" for this router (I switched order due to the beefier performance of the RT-AC86U).

    Fixed - Broadcom's new iproute2 package was looking in the wrong location for config files.

    Can't reproduce, make sure you did click on "apply" after changing it.
     
    LouisvilleUK likes this.
  11. .TT.

    .TT. Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Can't reproduce, make sure you did click on "apply" after changing it.[/QUOTE]

    I can reproduce this aswell. Some of the config dissappeared with out reboot. (might have been when configuring a second vpn clint but I have not confirmed this)
     
  12. MestasDeejay

    MestasDeejay New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Hello, I received my 86u. I installed the alpha on it.

    Im having a problem with download speed on the 5ghz network. with the same computer that i used with my 68u using wifi im getting just 10 Mb/s instead of 200Mb/s i was getting with the 68u. can anybody help me?

    EDIT

    ok. problem solved im using now the 68u as bridge. im getting 300 Mb/s now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2017
    admiral2145 likes this.
  13. cmkelley

    cmkelley Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Right, I missed that paragraph somehow, sorry. Thanks for your patience with us users and all your hard work!
     
  14. KnightRider

    KnightRider Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks, I ended up getting one in my hands. I noticed that you no longer have a feature to control the TX power and the memory utilization for AP is at 50% is that normal to be that high when it have little configurations?
     
  15. cmkelley

    cmkelley Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Memory not being used is being wasted. :) The more stuff (DNS entries, etc.) the router can cache, the faster your apparent speed will be. Aggressive clearing of memory is not necessarily a good thing.
     
  16. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,886
    Location:
    Canada
    Broadcom's new SDK has a lot of new components. Broadcom reserves 15% of total RAM for use for its various components (as a memory pool), so that leaves only 440 MB available out of 512 MB at boot time. After that, memory gets used by all the various services that are running.

    This is normal.
     
  17. KnightRider

    KnightRider Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks RMerlin, do you know if the TX power adjustment is a feature that is no longer available. I don't see it.
     
  18. Pir8pete

    Pir8pete Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    UP YOURS
    just swapped out my 1900p for this 86
     
    Vexira likes this.
  19. jim769

    jim769 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    744
    Location:
    USA, Michigan
    No longer available it was removed by Asus some time ago for there routers in the USA.
     
  20. Makaveli

    Makaveli Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Canada
    The AC86U doesn't look like an upgrade to the AC3100 if you ask me more of a side grade so I don't blame you for staying put.

    I would wait to see something alittle higher end.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page