Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

And So It Begins... Asus Announces First 802.11ax Router

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by RTN, Sep 2, 2017.

  1. RTN

    RTN Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    [Image removed; triggers Google's SafeSite. -RM]
    ASUS announced the first router based on the draft 802.11ax standard at IFA in Berlin. The RT-AX88U is a 4x4 design using Broadcom's 11ax platform, according to WikiDevi.

    Neither price or availability was announced.

    More information is in the press release below.
    ASUS Presents The Edge of Beyond at IFA 2017
    https://wikidevi.com/wiki/ASUS_RT-AX88U ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2017
    Nullity, Asussnb and LHF like this.
  2. jim769

    jim769 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Messages:
    746
    Location:
    USA, Michigan
    O know not another one... :eek: Gold antennas must mean something great.
     
  3. Pierino

    Pierino Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    794
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    Rmerlin are you going to support it it? Is there a firmware available yet? I'm having issues with mine. Lol :rolleyes:
     
    Ars92, drabisan and TheLostSwede like this.
  4. Odkrys

    Odkrys Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    There's no devices yet, even new Note 8 :O
     
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,608
    Location:
    Canada
    That was unexpected. The latest GPL drops refers to three different 802.11ax models, all of them in the ROG line, but no mention of this one.
     
  6. maylyn

    maylyn Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Let's the AX war begins :p
     
    joegreat likes this.
  7. Razor512

    Razor512 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    354
    I wonder, will they do a quad band version, 1 2.4GHz radio, 2, 5GHz radios, and 1 802.11ad radio?

    Also, are they finally ditching the decrepit 1GbE?
     
  8. maylyn

    maylyn Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    Unlikely ..... from what i have heard ..... not sure it's possible to co-exist and operate 802.11ad and 802.11ax standard together.

    Although ASUS has 802.11ad 1x1 on board on both their ASUS Intel X299 ROG Rampage VI Extreme (ASUS AREION 10GbE onboard) and ASUS AMD X399 Zenith Extreme with (ASUS AERION 10GbE as separate NIC).

    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-RAMPAGE-VI-EXTREME/

    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/ROG-ZENITH-EXTREME/

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboard-Accessory/ROG-AREION-10G/
     
  9. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    Gold antennas I have to have it ASAP!


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    joegreat and David B like this.
  10. RamGuy

    RamGuy Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Is Broadcom abandoning their Smart Connect / Tri-Band solution? I do see the benefit of Smart Connect as some homes gets flooded with new wireless devices so having the extra wireless NIC so you can off-load "useless" devices to their own NIC in order to achieve better throughput for your more meaningful devices on it's own wireless NIC makes a lot of sense. But it doesn't seem like Broadcom has done much with Smart Connect since they introduced it?

    802.11ax seems like the logical successor to 802.11ac, while 802.11ad seems like something only suited for very specific applications not really all that suited and logical for consumers due to the requirement of line-of-sight and how easy it is to break the connection / degrade performance.

    It also seems like most of these devices featuring above 1Gbit ports relies on Ethernet controllers from "Annapurna". I'm not a huge fan when companies starts adding controllers from rather unknown third-parties into the mix. Why can't they use higher throughput NIC's from Broadcom in their Broadcom based models and Qualcomm-Atheros in their Qualcomm-Atheroes based models? I guess it's all about cost? But it feels like "Quantenna" all over again.
     
  11. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,608
    Location:
    Canada
    The GT-AC5300 released only a few months ago is a triple band router and is based on the latest shipping platform from Broadcom. I don't see why you think Broadcom has abandoned it.

    Sent from my P027 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Ars92

    Ars92 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Interested to know if this comes with >=2.5gbps 8 port LAN or just 4 1gb ports. I mean, it is an 88-class product, so....

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk
     
  13. maylyn

    maylyn Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    118
    From https://wikidevi.com/wiki/ASUS_RT-AX88U

    ETH chip1: Broadcom BCM49408
    ETH chip2: Aquantia AQR107 ~ (Single port 5 speed)
    ETH chip3: Aquantia AQR407 ~ (Quad port 5 speed)
    Switch: Realtek RTL8370MB
    LAN speed: 100/1000/10000
    LAN ports: 8
    WAN speed: 100/1000/10000
    WAN ports: 1

    I'm not able confirm anything either due to confidentiality and NDA whether what Wikidevi has posted is accurate or not.
     
    joegreat and Ars92 like this.
  14. Balance

    Balance New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Few interesting things:
    • Ethernet ports look like 10 GbE! The Aquantia AQR407 can provide four 10/5/2.5/1 GbE port and the AQR107 provides another one. Specs on the Broadcom BCM49408 are vague, but it looks like a 5-port 2.5/1 GbE switch. I think the AQR107 is used for the WAN port, so 4x 10 GbE and 4x 2.5 GbE LAN and 1x 10 GbE WAN.
    • 5 GHz is a 4x4 MIMO implementation with 160MHz channels, good for 1200 Gb/s for each stream and 4.8 Gb/s total.
    • 2.4 GHz is also a 4x4 MIMO implementation, but doesn't support 802.11ax! It's 802.11n with NitroQAM (1024-QAM) and some other proprietary Broadcom stuff. It's really disappointing if the final product doesn't support 802.11ax on 2.4 GHz, since it is one of the big improvements of 802.11ax.
     
    Ars92 likes this.
  15. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    These are VERY early days for 11ax. The standard is at the first draft and isn't even scheduled to be released until July 2019. So any products released at this point are going to be a mashup of old and new and will not support everything that is in the DRAFT standard.

    As I've said before, buy this stuff at your own risk.
     
    rbird2, thelonelycoder, Hydro and 8 others like this.
  16. David B

    David B Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    I'm not familiar with 11ax standard, but it sounds to me like a standard that will be useless unless you are so close to your router that you might as well be connected via Ethernet.
     
  17. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    You're thinking AD. AX will have the same range as AC.
     
    David B and sentinelvdx like this.
  18. David B

    David B Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    I know AD is like that, but my expectation was that AX was not going to be any better. If it is, then that's impressive.
     
    sijuthomas98 likes this.
  19. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,608
    Location:
    Canada
    AX is more about capacity than single client throughput. One single computer will probably not see much of an improvement on throughput, from what I gather.
     
    sentinelvdx and David B like this.
  20. tech960

    tech960 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Do any current devices support AX.

    I dont think any smartphone does. Kinda useless if you can't connect it to anything

    Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page