1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Any issue using AiMesh Node more than Router?

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by dstingel1, Jan 17, 2020.

  1. dstingel1

    dstingel1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    I have a fiber connection near the back of my house, but we use the WiFi primarily in the front two-thirds of the house on both two floors. I don’t have any WiFi signal issues in the house but would like to extend my network outback where it currently doesn’t extend. I have an RT-AC68U and would like to add another using AiMesh.

    Would there be any downside if I put my “router” at the back of the house (near the fiber connection and back door to reach out back) and my “node” in the front about 75ft away? Most of my WiFi traffic would go through the node. I’m obviously going to run Ethernet in the basement between them.

    My primary reasoning is I could run ~10ft of cable from the terminal to my router and then 75ft to my node. Otherwise I’d have to run 75 ft from my terminal to router, then back 75 ft to a node.
     
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    USA
    The only downside is that the majority of your traffic will traverse your wired backhaul. But it will probably be just fine... being a wired backhaul.

    OE
     
  3. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10,687
    Location:
    UK
    The only "gotcha" I can think of is that you wouldn't be able to have a guest WiFi network in the front of the house that was isolated from your LAN.
     
    OzarkEdge likes this.
  4. dstingel1

    dstingel1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Th

    Thanks! That’s sort of what I figured but if someone knows otherwise I figure they’re likely on this forum.
     
  5. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    USA
    Only the AiMesh router can broadcast guest WLANs, so its placement may matter.

    Spitballing... maybe a new 86U router forward on the first level and a wireless 68U node upstairs would do it.

    OE
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2020
    dstingel1 likes this.