What's new

Any reason to use one public DNS over another?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Lee MacMillan

Comcast is my ISP and I have been using Google ipv4 DNS servers for many years. I added Google's ipv6 servers about 3 years ago. (Router is Asus AC66U B1). When I search on free DNS, I don't really see anything that leads me to believe one is better than another. Google already knows everything there is to know about me (I use Chrome as my browser and an Android phone) so I don't really have any privacy concerns. :)

For most people the decision is based on reliability or privacy. Arrange the order of these two on you own preference. I'd say after that would come speed (response times).

Working backwards... In theory your ISP's DNS servers should be the fastest responding and also provide the fastest connection the CDN services (like Netflix, etc.).

However sometimes there are reasons why you don't want to use your ISP's servers. Some ISP's actively snoop DNS and might inject advertising, sell your activity to third parties, block content, etc. Or it may simply be that their DNS servers are slow and/or unreliable. For these reasons you might prefer/need to use an alternative.

If privacy (to an extent) and speed are important then something like Cloudflare's 1.1.1.1 is quite a good option.

I’ve used google and cloudflare dns for quite awhile. Google is Google as far as privacy goes and Clouflare is kind of wonky. I’ve been using quad9 for last few months and it works well. No issues, fast, east setup. Of course YMMV.

Last edited:
Unbound. :)

FWIW, there are DNS Benchmark/Speed Test programs out there.