What's new

Any way to actually kick a connected client through Merlin's firmware?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Framerate

Occasional Visitor
Hi guys,

so I've got a RT-AC66U router with Merlin's firmware installed. The version is 3.0.0.4.374.34_0. I've had it installed for quite a while now. I'm no network expert, but I can grasp at least 90% of the settings and features in a router. There's one thing I'm wondering, is it possible to boot a client from my network through the router? A simple "Disconnect" button or something. I don't want to start blacklisting, whitelisting, or denying them their renew. I just wonder what is the simplest way of booting someone from the network?

Also, since I'm using a year old firmware, perhaps the latest one contains such features?

Thanks in advance,
Daniel

If you don't blacklist and just kick the device, it will be able to reconnect ... I don't get your point ?

If you don't blacklist and just kick the device, it will be able to reconnect ... I don't get your point ?
You don't get it?

That there's no easy way of kicking them. How would you go about kicking them instantly, before blacklisting them. How one would actually kick an already connected client, before blocking it?

Last edited:
Also you really should consider updating your firmware to something newer either Stock, Merlin or Johns fork I'm sure your network would at least be more secure.

I really don't mind security issues, as I've never had such problems before. I'm just wondering if its possible to forcibly disconnect an already connected client, without going through a lot of shirt to do it