What's new

Anything I should do before updating?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Webheadfred

Occasional Visitor
Greeting folks.

I'm presently on 384.19 and the wife-unit will be out for a while. I'm contemplating on updating to the 386.7_2.

I'm not an expert user as most of you are and my network is pretty basic. Is there anything I should do prior to updating with this large of a jump in firmware? I'm on an RT-AX88u and it's working nicely now.

Cheers all!

Fred

... and my network is pretty basic. Is there anything I should do prior to updating with this large of a jump in firmware?
If you don't need to preserve lots of customised user settings it would be best to factory reset the router and set it up fresh for the new firmware. This also avoids a potential gotcha when migrating from 384.x to 386.x whereby the migration process could take many hours to complete.

So, do a factory reset via the GUI (with the initialise option ticked) now followed by the bear minimum setup required to log back into the router. Then install the new firmware. After that completes do another factory reset (with initialise) and then manually configure your router.

If you don't need to preserve lots of customised user settings it would be best to factory reset the router and set it up fresh for the new firmware. This also avoids a potential gotcha when migrating from 384.x to 386.x whereby the migration process could take many hours to complete.

So, do a factory reset via the GUI (with the initialise option ticked) now followed by the bear minimum setup required to log back into the router. Then install the new firmware. After that completes do another factory reset (with initialise) and then manually configure your router.