1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Are pass through home plugs preferable?

Discussion in 'MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA' started by kamaran, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. kamaran

    kamaran Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    From a purely technical perspective.

    If you have a large number of electrical devices connected to a power strip, would they benefit from going via a pass through homeplug? Would this in any way help filter noise? (This is the claim and recommendation in the instructions of the Netgear XAVB5601)

    As opposed to the power strip being connected directly to the wall with an adjacent (non pass through) homeplug unit?
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2013
  2. kamaran

    kamaran Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    So in SNB spirit I ran some testing of my own with Surprising results.

    With 2 homeplugs both connected to a power strip (one with all my PC kit and the other with all my AV kit), I found that performance significantly deteriorated when using passthrough, in some cases as much as 50%!

    Using LAN Speed Test from my NAS to my Streamer my results were:

    76Mbps write, 45Mbps read

    Using passthrough, performance dropped to:

    30Mbps write, 33Mbps read

    So much for filtering!
     
  3. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    Thanks for running the test and sharing the results.

    But in true SNB spirit, can you provide more detail about the devices and how they were connected for both the before and after results?
     
  4. kamaran

    kamaran Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Sure. I was using a pair of Netgear XAVB5601

    One was connected via cat6 directly to a LAN port on my D-Link Dir-655. This was based in my home office.

    The second plug was located in my living room, same floor, about 15m away. This was connected via CAT6 to my POPCORN hour PCH-200 network steamer.

    When I tested using pass through, the first homeplug had the power strip for my NAS, modem and router connected to it.

    The second had the power strip for my plasma tv, AV Amp and streamer connected.

    Let me know if you need any further details.
     
  5. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    So when you didn't plug the equipment strips into the homeplug outlet, did they plug into the other outlet in the wall outlet right next to it?

    I'll be the biggest noise source was the plasma...
     
  6. stevech

    stevech Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,007
    Location:
    San Diego
    more important than noise is how much home theater gear and plug strips *attenuate* the signal. The IP on AC wiring devices need to have several feet of wire between them and these attenuating devices - like using a nearby outlet and an extension cord, or some such.

    These home theater gear and plug strips, and the like, are "signal-suckers" in lay terms.
     
  7. kamaran

    kamaran Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Yes exactly, when not passing through it was the power socket next to the one used by the power strip
     
  8. robgold

    robgold Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Just for clarification, are you saying that using an extension cord to physically move a power strip further away from the Homeplug Adapter will help reduce attenuation? I am using a Homeplug adapter with my home theater setup and, by necessity, have a home theater power strip plugged into a two-plug outlet shared with the adapter. The power strip is plugged into a powerline filter. I may be able to move the power strip a couple of feet further away from the plug if that would help.
     
  9. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,751
    Yes
    Slow HomePlug? Try A Powerline Filter