1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Are there smart home devices which use 5GHz wireless

Discussion in 'General Smart Home Discussion' started by coxhaus, Aug 19, 2018.

  1. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    texas
    Are there any 5 GHz wireless smart home devices out there? I don't run 2.4 GHz wireless any more. My wife bought a device to turn off lights but it was only 2.4 GHz so it would not work with my wireless.
     
  2. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,697
    None that I know of.
     
  3. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,063
    thats terrible, considering the interference that can cause connection issues if said smart device is a door bell, a lock, a wireless camera system, a motion sensor and so on.
     
  4. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,697
    What's worse, no connection due to interference or short range?
    These are not performance driven products and low cost is key.
     
  5. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,063
    before wireless became commonplace at homes, these devices would be wired.
     
  6. rorykingms

    rorykingms Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Nest Cam Outdoor and Rachio 3rd gen work on 5 GHz. (Also 2.4 GHz.)
     
    [email protected] likes this.
  7. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,729
    My Amazon Echo uses 5 Ghz.
     
    [email protected] likes this.
  8. rorykingms

    rorykingms Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Just an FYI: the Caseta Wireless devices from Lutron communicate to a bridge that you hardwire to your network. They don't live on your WiFi. And they work great.
     
  9. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,788
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Not much out there for 5GHz natively - I've seen some of the esoteric stuff that runs in the non-WiFi (basically ISM) space that break out to a gateway box, but most of those boxes are ethernet.

    With your Router and dedicated AP configuration - would it hurt to set up a dedicated SSID and VLAN for these IOT devices that run on 2.4 - one AP in 2.4GHz should probably cover more than enough of the property...

    Might be a worthwhile exercise with the holiday season fast approaching - guest network for visitors... same policy would apply perhaps...