What's new

Assistance with port opening for nginx...please

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

vw-kombi

Regular Contributor
I am new to this stuff so please be gentle.
I am using skynet also - if that is relevant, but I tried disabling it and no diff.
I have nginx installed on my MERLIN ROUTER and its working and redirecting to my hosts from the lan only - as it is all fine on the lan, I assume my config is all good.
I am using ssl port 9443, not the default. Port 80/443 are in use by the router and I dont need to use them, plus some isp's block these also so I choose 9443.
I am having trouble accessing this port from outside. A port checker on the net say it is blocked.
The ssl sophos headers check says 'taking too long' - same issue as port not there I guess.
I have tried port forward in merlin : - source IP - blank, port range - 9443, local IP - 192.168.1.1, local port - 9443 - TCP.
Much googling said to do this in the firewall - which I am not sure is in ADDITION to a port forward, or instead of - Add fw rule to the /jffs/scripts/firewall-start and restart :
iptables -t filter -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 9443 -j ACCEPT

I have spent many hours on this, but always a port checker on the net says 9443 is not open.
I have another direct open service on 8920 that is working, but that will be replaced with this reverse proxy once I get it working.

The key nginx script is below - but this is, as I said working fine when run on the LAN - I just cant access it remotely.

Thanks in advance.

server {
listen [::]:9443 ssl;
listen 9443 ssl;
server_name commented-out;

ssl_session_timeout 30m;
ssl_protocols TLSv1.2 TLSv1.1 TLSv1;
ssl_certificate /opt/etc/nginx/cert.pem;
ssl_certificate_key /opt/etc/nginx/cert.key;