1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus 5300 password help....

Discussion in 'Routers' started by houghton19, Apr 9, 2020.

  1. houghton19

    houghton19 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    hey everyone, Im going to assume that my answer is going to be a big fat no......

    ive somehow been locked out of my asus. I can connect and browse, however i cant login to the router to change any settings, i have tried doing a factory reset and loading a previous CFG file and it still does the same.

    Im 99% sure i know what the password is but its not working.

    I logged into the router earlier today as i was trying to setup a new 5G router to it, I couldnt get it to work so reverted to previous settings so everyone can still use the internet. Now i have no access into it. however I also dont have any of my port forwarding written down so i could do with just being able to log in without starting again.

    any help please....... Thanks.

    Im running asus rwt.
     
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    12,664
    Was your password longer than 16 alphanumeric characters with no punctuation, no spaces, no special characters, and no smiley faces?

    If it was, try using just the first 16 to see if it will let you log in.

    Did/do you have ssh enabled? Does that allow you to log in?

    Does a reboot help?

    Does using a different browser help?

    Does leaving the router powered off and disconnecting all cables for at least 5 minutes and then booting up help?

    I hope others have some suggestions, but if the above doesn't work, I think a full reset is required.
     
  3. houghton19

    houghton19 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    no special characters Just alpha digits.


    Not sure about ssh

    reboot didn’t help. Even done a factory reset and loaded an old configuration file and that is the same.

    haven’t tried leaving disconnected for 5 minutes. Will try tomorrow.

    thanks for your reply.
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    12,664
    Do you know which firmware that 'old configuration file' was made with? Ideally, you will need to flash the router to that version, do a full reset to factory defaults/Initialize all settings and then import that old config file. ;)
     
  5. houghton19

    houghton19 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Nope. And obviously no way of finding out now either. Boooooooo.
     
  6. houghton19

    houghton19 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Well i think we can close this thread. luckily i had a list of my port forwarding on my laptop, restore and re setup within about 20 minutes so not bad. thanks anyway.
     
    L&LD likes this.