1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus AC-5300 Port Forwarding

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Kaz Zboray, Oct 11, 2018.

  1. Kaz Zboray

    Kaz Zboray New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    AC-5300 348.7

    I have enabled Virtual Server / Port forwarding and added a rule for:

    Service Name | Sorce IP | Port Range | Local IP | Local Port
    Device Name | WWW.whatsmyip.com| 8880 | 172.16.4.4 | 8880 | TCP

    and yet when I try to access this device remotely it isn't available on port 8880. An external port scan also shows that port 8880 is not open. I am having this problem with two AC-5300 in different homes. One on Comcast and the other on ATT. Port forwarding is either not working or I am missing a step.

    Suggestions welcome.
     
  2. JDB

    JDB Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    623
    Can you screenshot what you’ve actually put?

    A url is not valid.

    The source IP should be blank unless you want to limit the places you can use this port from on the Internet - ie it should not be your own WAN IP


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Kaz Zboray likes this.
  3. Kaz Zboray

    Kaz Zboray New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    JDB,

    Thank you for the help. It was my lack of understanding and your helpful hint that got things sorted for me. By removing the SOURCE IP and leaving it blank I was able to access the devices remotely.

    Thank you again for your help!
     
    JDB likes this.
  4. Ronald Sutton

    Ronald Sutton New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I port-forwarded a web server to the internet on my RT-AC88U running the 384.7 version of Asuswrt-Merlin and I notice that the firmware reports every remote client that connects to it from the internet has the router's LAN IP address (192.168.1.1). Are you seeing the same thing? It would be nice to get the actual IP address of the client instead.

    I just tried this for the first time, so can't say this is behavior introduced in the most recent update.
     
  5. JDB

    JDB Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    623
    Can you explain more clearly what you’ve, in what direction and where you are seeing the IP reported? None of your statement made a lot of sense!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. ADFHogan

    ADFHogan Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Ronald is saying that he has a webserver on his internal network, and he's forwarded a port to it, and that webserver, rather than seeing the real IP of the external network client, is seeing the router's IP.
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,958
    Location:
    UK
    That would make more sense, although that's not what he said. I think he meant to say "the web server reports" rather than "the firmware reports".

    @Ronald Sutton The web server ought to be reporting the client's IP address (it works for me). If you were testing this from inside your LAN using your WAN address you will see the router's address because of NAT loopback.
     
    skeal likes this.
  8. ADFHogan

    ADFHogan Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Hi Ronald..

    When I use the WAN -> Virtual Server / Port Forwarding screen (/Advanced_VirtualServer_Content.asp) on my RT-AC5300 router running latest release version (384.7), I do not experience this behaviour. Is this where you've configured the port forward?

    Do you have any other routers infront of your Asus router (double NAT)?
    Are you trying to access the webserver via its external address from inside your network?
     
  9. Ronald Sutton

    Ronald Sutton New Around Here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    My Asus router is the only router in my system. I did access the webserver via its external address from inside my network. After reading your comments, I also allowed it to sit unprotected on the internet until some script kiddies stumbled upon it and got a real IP address for each one.