What's new

Asus AC-RP56

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Robertus

Occasional Visitor
So for various reasons I bought but it seems really poor? The web interface seems to be totally unreliable as does any connection via the device.

The device is plugged in, set to repeater mode under my partners work laptop - yet when the device is active she experienced many connectivy issues.

is it just a crap product or am I doing something from? My router is an RT-AC68u.

I'm guessing you really mean to say RP-AC56.

The device is plugged in, set to repeater mode under my partners work laptop - yet when the device is active she experienced many connectivy issues.
I have no experience of that device but generally speaking a repeater should be placed between the client and the router, at about 35% to 50% distance from the client (i.e. slightly closer than halfway). Placing it so close to the client is probably a bad idea, you might as well not use it at all. Try plugging it into a wall socket that has lots of free space around it, e.g. not under a desk, behind a TV, etc.

Last edited:
Hey

Thanks for the response. The problem I have is we're in a UK semi-detached house which is on the smaller end of the spectrum. My partner has a desk in our extension, which is near the patio. She gets good WiFi signal, but out on the patio - which we are preparing for summer (hence wanting to use devices outside), we get pretty much nothing. I had installed the repeater in the only place possible due to space/size of house. I've had to remove the repeater as I couldn't get it to play nicely with my partner's laptop and overall it seemed to be incredible janky.

Not really what what to do now.