1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus AC68W and Merlin 384.12 Beta 2 not supported now?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by strawdragon, Jun 19, 2019.

  1. strawdragon

    strawdragon New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Hello!

    I have been using Merlin on my RT-AC68W now for years. I am currently running the stable release of 384.11.2 without issue. Now when trying to upload the trx file directly to my router, I am getting an error about incorrect firmware.

    Has this model been discontinued??
     
  2. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    From https://github.com/RMerl/asuswrt-merlin/wiki/Supported-Devices

    “NOTE: all the "R" versions (for example RT-N66R) are the same as their "U" counterparts, they are just different packages aimed at large retailers. The firmware is 100% compatible with both U and R versions of the routers. Same with the "W" variants that are simply white.”


    So as long as you downloaded the firmware for the RT-AC68U, it should work
    And welcome to the forum.

    Are you uploading over wifi? Prrhaps try an ethernet cable. Did the hash match?
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2019
    Vexira likes this.
  3. cmkelley

    cmkelley Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    908
    Location:
    Greater Los Angeles Area, California, USizicstania
    Make sure you are uploading AC68 firmware and not AC86. Almost everyone tries that at least once. :)
     
    Vexira and martinr like this.
  4. strawdragon

    strawdragon New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks! This is not my first rodeo with updating my router. I have done it dozens of time already with Merlin code.

    I am positive it was 68U code as I've tried it twice now and downloading from different ISP connections to rule out corrupt data.
     
    cmkelley likes this.
  5. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Sorry: I didn’t mean “Did the hash match?”. I should have said did you check the hash. (If the hash didn’t match you would have dine something about it!)
     
    Vexira likes this.
  6. strawdragon

    strawdragon New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Comparing the SHA-256 matches what is listed for BETA and what was downloaded.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 68w.PNG
      68w.PNG
      File size:
      125.6 KB
      Views:
      117
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,166
    Location:
    Canada
    Reboot the router without any USB disk plugged in, then try again. If this is a genuine RT-AC68W, then there is no reason for the firmware to be rejected.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  8. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,435
    Location:
    UK
    Your screenshot shows 384.10_2. Maybe try loading 384.11_2 first.
     
  9. strawdragon

    strawdragon New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks! Oddly enough the reboot did resolve the problem before applying the firmware.. Strange but it worked :)
     
  10. gattaca

    gattaca Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    As a general rule, I've learned over the years to reboot my ASUS routers (which may have been up for many weeks) BEFORE applying any firmware updates. I bascially reboot the router, wait 20-30 mins and only then apply the firmware updates. That solves many issues. I think this is also part of LD&D setup steps. Later.
     
    Vexira, martinr and L&LD like this.
  11. strawdragon

    strawdragon New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Never had to before, Again I have been loading Merlin FW for years.
    Also its a Linux box, I never have to restart any of my hundreds of boxes I manage before applying an update :)
     
  12. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,166
    Location:
    Canada
    That's because if the router is running too low on free RAM, it won't be able to accept the 40 MB firmware image for flashing. Rebooting without any plugged USB disk takes care of that.

    Those servers have more than 256 MB of RAM tho...
     
    Vexira, snapieee, martinr and 2 others like this.
  13. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    It is, and L&LD allows 5 mins

    • Remove all USB devices from the router.
    • Reboot via the gui and let it settle for 5 minutes after it comes up again.
     
  14. martinr

    martinr Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Have a look at The Guide that gattaca refers to.
     
  15. cmkelley

    cmkelley Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    908
    Location:
    Greater Los Angeles Area, California, USizicstania
    And they also write a substantial portion of the update directly to disk, they never have to store the entire update in RAM like the router does. :)
     
    Vexira and L&LD like this.