What's new

Asus AiMesh - AND Mess...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

florrepus

New Around Here
I am a ”semi-professional” Asus user. I have been using Asus routers for more than 5 years; I have +10 various Asus routers.

In a large two floor flat with thick concrete floor and lost of brick walls, I was using one AC66U A1. It covered most of the first floor and parts of the second floor. I have a + 500/500 Mbps fiber connection installed, so I decided to get a better WiFi network.

First I bought a Google WiFi mesh package with 3 units. It was very simple to install and of course improved the coverage. But for various reasons, I decide to go for AiMesh instead.

AiMesh
First I replaced my AC66U_A1 with an AC86U. By itself the coverage was significantly improved. I got 200 Mbps coverage everywhere at first floor, and 30-50 Mbps most all places at second floor.

Then I install an AC68U in the second floor, and got a minimum 100Mbps everywhere at that floor.

Except for that these two routers costs more than 3 Google WiFi routers, and it was some problems in making the two Asus’ work - I am happy!

But then came (Ai) Mess
For some reasons, I needed an extra mesh node. I had an AC66U_B1, and the configuration menus are identical to AC68U and AC86U (while my AC66U_A1 has no signs of mesh configuration possibilities). For a period it worked. But then came a new firmware, and it stopped working.

I have spent lots (and lots, and lots…) of time trying all combinations of one them as a router, and the two others as nodes. But AC66U_B1 never connects. Not even with the new 3.0.0.4.384_20942-ge38bead firmware in all. Including trying with the AC68U firmware, in the AC66U_B1.

So for me: the AC66U_B1 is really a Mess.