What's new

Asus DDNS trouble

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

evalf

Occasional Visitor
Hello,

I've been using the Asus DDNS service for several years without any problems on my RT-AC68U. It stopped working today, I tried turning the feature off and on again, reset the router, updated my firwmare to the latest Merlin release, it still doesnt't work. The feature shows as enabled in the network map page, and it shows as successfully registered in the DDNS page when I reactivate it, however when I go to http://iplookup.asus.com/nslookup.php and lookup my address it says "We can't find ip address for *****.asuscomm.com", and all the services I use that rely on the DDNS also can't find my router.

Are other users having trouble with the service, or is this a problem on my end only? Thanks!

Your not alone. I'm having the same exact issue, and when I visit that same website I get the same error. I guess the service is down. Hopefully they will get it up again quickly.

I had same problem. I have a T-Mobile ASUS TM-AC1900 and it defaults to a DYDNS server at asuscomm.com. It used to work but it broke recently. It resolves to 5.129.219.12 a server site in Russia.

I discontinued using this DYDNS and had to unconnected my private VPN service through my router.

I was concerned about how this happened and called T-Mobile and complained. They do not have a clue but agreed to send me a new router which would solve this problem.

I decided I had better get off their firmware and go to stock ASUS RT-AC68U or Merlin firmware.

I went through the downgrade to xxxx1703 firmware and hex edited a version of CFE 1.0.2.0 and md-write process and am now ready to flash with alternate firmware.