1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS devices supporting AI-Mesh

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Darf Nader, Nov 30, 2019.

  1. Darf Nader

    Darf Nader Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Is there a definitive list of all the ASUS devices that support AI Mesh? I found a third party list that might include all of the Asus routers that support it but I can’t say it’s definitive nor does it list any access points. I don’t know if that’s because access points aren’t supported or if they were just not included. I would like to get a third mesh point by just adding wired access point device rather than spending the money on a router whose router functions that I would not need. Does anyone know of such a thing? ASUS likes to point you to lots of marketing materials rather than a list.
     
  2. organshifter

    organshifter Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2019
    Messages:
    47
    I did a quick search, and there's not much out there in regards to a definitive list, which is pretty surprising. However, I did find this info. Hope it helps.

    Asus AiMesh

    [​IMG]
     
    OMNI619 likes this.
  3. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,135
    Newer DSL-types support Aimesh too as well as buggy Lyra and newer ZenWiFi (dont know how reliable they are).
    An access point wont support Aimesh.
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,979
    Location:
    Canada
    My Lyra Trio worked quite reliably when I used it as a node to my RT-AX88U for a few weeks during development.
     
  5. Darf Nader

    Darf Nader Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Can anyone definitively say if this includes the TM-AC1900 once it has had its CFE modified so the firmware can be updated to the latest Merlin-WRT and therefore the equivalent of an RT-AC68U/P? I ask because I went through the arduous process, but after I finally was able to update the firmware with the latest Merlin-WRT for the RT-AC68U/P the admin tool does not offer a way to enable it to be an AIMesh slave. (It also still says it’s a AC-1900.) This is after a hard reset of the device.

    I was so proud of myself for getting around all of the stupid obstacles T-Mobile put in place only to find that once I installed the right firmware it still doesn’t mesh resulting in a case of the sads.

    In short, I am not sure if I am missing a crucial step to allow AI-Mesh to function. This might include having the device think it’s an RT-AC68U/P right down to how it self-identifies in the admin GUI. Since I haven’t found specifics as to what a the Web UI should look like after it is de-T-mobileafied I can’t be sure if this is expected or not.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,979
    Location:
    Canada
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/snbforums-policy-on-asus-tm-ac1900-conversion-discussion.46018/