Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS firmware will change the verification method

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by ASUS_ASUSWRT, May 4, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ASUS_ASUSWRT

    ASUS_ASUSWRT Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Hello Everybody,

    As you may know, FCC requires all manufactures to prevent users from changing RF parameters. Not only manufactures' firmware but 3rd party firmware need to follow this instruction.

    Some manufactures' strategy is blocking all 3rd party firmware, and ASUS's idea is still following GNU, opening the source code, and welcome 3rd party firmware.

    ASUS are co-working with developers such as Merlin and DDWRT to make sure 3rd party firmwares power are the same as ASUS firmware and obey the regulations.

    The firmware verification method will be modified in next formal firmware release. This firmware will not accept older firmware and router's with this new firmware cannot downgrade to older version. So it will not accept 3rd party firmware for a short time.

    Please don't be afraid, when we finish the new method to protect the RF parameter, we will release firmware verification method to developers and you can still using the web GUI to change to 3rd party firmware.


    ASUS-Tek
     
  2. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,694
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    so this ONLY relates to north american releases right , the rest of the world firmware is not restricted right ?

    if so with there be 2 versions of the fw eg north american and not north american as the fcc rules dont apply to anyone outside the us of a
     
    MarkyPancake likes this.
  3. charlie2alpha

    charlie2alpha Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    349
    Location:
    Greece
    Not gonna happen, there's only one version of the firmware and will continue to be so. I don't like it, you don't like it, this is reality. Maintaining two branches is not cost effective.
     
  4. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Poland
    interesting.
    So, when new fw is not stable then we can't back to stable release ?
    eg. stable 9460, not stable 9526
     
  5. pete y testing

    pete y testing Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,694
    Location:
    victoria, australia
    netgear do it , eg north america and not north america
     
    MarkyPancake and Sethr like this.
  6. gtspeck

    gtspeck Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    United States
    Hopefully they will be able to implement going back soon.:(
     
  7. WBV

    WBV Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Hello all.
    I had to join so that I post on this.
    If this goes through and I have difficulty in flashing my RT-AC3200 and RT- 56U, then I shall replace them in a heartbeat with another mfg.
    I have a sledge hammer in the basement to aid me in doing so.
     
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,189
    Location:
    Canada
    Plus, it makes no sense to put in place a limitation, then tell people: "you can flash this one with a restriction, or flash this one which don't". Would totally defeat the purpose.
     
    nnike, Ocellaris, cybrnook and 2 others like this.
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,189
    Location:
    Canada
    AFAIK, this limitation is only against the older firmwares that lack the new validation system. New firmwares after that will be downgradable amongst themselves.

    For example, let's say that 382_1000 is the first firmware that prevents flashing 380_2696. Once you upgrade to 382_2000, I expect you will still be able to flash 382_1000, just not anything older.
     
    VANT likes this.
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,189
    Location:
    Canada
    Why? Asus' stance is to ensure that you will still be able to flash a third party firmware, unlike some of their competitors, so I don't see where's the problem.

    The FCC requirements apply to ALL manufacturers. Don't expect everyone else to keep this a free-for-all, they will all have to implement some form of control to remain compliant. One of them already took the stance of blocking any third party firmware. Expect others to also come up with some plan between now and the June deadline.
     
    TurboFreak68 and Tekneek like this.
  11. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,273
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I think I can speak for many - Very happy to see Asus' approach to this challenge, and it is more that just NA that is adopting an approach..

    Asus keeping options open is very much in the spirit of the GPL, and I applaud their decision.

    Most are running either AsusWRT forks, or firmware such as DDWRT/OpenWRT not for the radio changes, but for the Routing capabilities.

    (Has Asus considered doing a Router Only product - take the RT-AC88U, remove the radios, open up more access to the very programable Realtek switch, and drop in let's saw 2GB RAM and bump the NAND up (one could hope for an 8GB eMMC, but...)
     
  12. Toastman

    Toastman New Around Here

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    ASUS are striving to keep open the possibility of us using third party firmware, unlike some other manufacturers who have chosen to effectively deny that possibility. Those of us in the Tomato community will work with them to achieve this,

    @sfx2000 - I have often thought this to be a great idea. I personally never use the wireless on gateway routers - all wireless is done by dedicated access points. I am one of the old school who believes that the function of a router is to route packets :D
     
    Gitsum, mstombs and sfx2000 like this.
  13. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,273
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    @Toastman - always appreciate the third-party community - Tomato, AsusWRT-RMerlin's work, and everyone at DDWRT/OpenWRT - sometimes it's a thankless job, but just know that it is a blessing to the entire industry... this is how Linux is supposed to work.
     
  14. eddiez

    eddiez Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Netherlands
    The question is whether or not this will result in firmware that only allows FCC permitted (=USA) settings. Since Europa is much more liberal when it comes to channels use, would European users thus be limited ?
     
  15. vaszago

    vaszago Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Austria
    How do I know if I flash a Validated firmware that the Reapeter mode works (AC68), or another service which I absolutely need.
    Here I can then no longer to an older version where it works. So i can not test the new Firmware if the Service work.
    I think that even is a significant limitation.

    I think I'll have to consider whether one enters the risk accurately.

    I think the 378.54_1 for the AC68 be the last firmware for me.

    As is my risk simply too big.
     
  16. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,636
    Repeater mode not working on RT-AC68U latest versions? > 378.54_1 to 380.58?
     
  17. vaszago

    vaszago Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Austria
    The latest who works on Ac68 is the 378.54_1.
    Last night i testet the 380.59 Beta 2 and it still not work the Repaeter mode.
    Which is frustrating
     
  18. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,189
    Location:
    Canada
    Same way with most software: you wait a few days to see the feedback from other people who decided to upgrade on day 1, and base your decision on that.
     
    TurboFreak68 likes this.
  19. vaszago

    vaszago Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Austria
    I asked sometimes if the reapeter mode works?. But no responding.
     
  20. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,636
    I wonder how ASUS still didn't fixed it, the exact same scanerio with RT-AC66U...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page