Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS ROUTERS CFE DUMPS COLLECTION

Discussion in 'ASUS Wireless' started by hggomes, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. kenpet

    kenpet Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Is there a way to extract the information from CFE (*.bin) in the format shown in several posts in this thread. Shown below. That way I can compare 2002 and 2003 CFE to see what are the differences. Thank you.

    Code:
    boardtype=0xF5B2
    boardnum=00
    boardrev=0x1100
    boardflags=0x00000110
    boardflags2=0x00000000
    sromrev=8
    clkfreq=600,300,150
    xtalfreq=25000
    et0phyaddr=30
    et0mdcport=0
    et0macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    vlan1ports=1 2 3 4 8*
    vlan1hwname=et0
    vlan2ports=0 8u
    vlan2hwname=et0
    landevs=vlan1 wl0 wl1
    wandevs=et0
    lan_ipaddr=192.168.27.1
    lan_netmask=255.255.255.0
    gpio4=wps_button
    boot_wait=on
    gpio7=robo_reset
    watchdog=3000
    pci/1/1/venid=0x14E4
    pci/1/1/boardvendor=0x14E4
    pci/1/1/sromrev=9
    pci/1/1/boardflags=0x00003200
    pci/1/1/boardflags2=0x00100000
    pci/1/1/devid=0x4332
    pci/1/1/macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    pci/1/1/aa2g=7
    pci/1/1/ag0=0
    pci/1/1/ag1=0
    pci/1/1/ag2=0
    pci/1/1/txchain=7
    pci/1/1/rxchain=7
    pci/1/1/antswitch=0
    pci/1/1/tssipos2g=1
    pci/1/1/extpagain2g=3
    pci/1/1/pdetrange2g=0
    pci/1/1/triso2g=3
    pci/1/1/antswctl2g=0
    pci/1/1/elna2g=0
    pci/1/1/maxp2ga0=0x64
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a0=0xFE74
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a0=0x1A2D
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a0=0xF999
    pci/1/1/maxp2ga1=0x64
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a1=0xFE85
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a1=0x1C2D
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a1=0xF924
    pci/1/1/maxp2ga2=0x64
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a2=0xFE75
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a2=0x1971
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a2=0xF9C8
    pci/1/1/cckbw202gpo=0x1111
    pci/1/1/cckbw20ul2gpo=0x1111
    pci/1/1/legofdmbw202gpo=0x74111111
    pci/1/1/legofdmbw20ul2gpo=0x74111111
    pci/1/1/mcsbw202gpo=0xDA741111
    pci/1/1/mcsbw20ul2gpo=0xDA741111
    pci/1/1/mcsbw402gpo=0xFC963333
    pci/1/1/mcs32po=0x9999
    pci/1/1/legofdm40duppo=0x4444
    pci/1/1/parefldovoltage=35
    pci/1/1/ccode=US
    pci/1/1/regrev=0
    pci/1/1/ledbh12=7
    pci/1/1/leddc=0xFFFF
    pci/1/1/temps_period=5
    pci/1/1/tempthresh=120
    pci/1/1/temps_hysteresis=5
    pci/1/1/phycal_tempdelta=0
    pci/1/1/tempoffset=0
    pci/1/1/rxgainerr2ga0=60
    pci/2/1/boardrev=0x1305
    pci/2/1/boardflags=0x10000000
    pci/2/1/boardflags2=0x00300002
    pci/2/1/boardflags3=0x0
    pci/2/1/boardnum=21059
    pci/2/1/boardtype=0x621
    pci/2/1/boardvendor=0x14e4
    pci/2/1/devid=0x43a2
    pci/2/1/venid=0x14e4
    pci/2/1/macaddr=XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX
    pci/2/1/ccode=US
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gtrelnabypa0=1
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gtrelnabypa1=1
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gtrelnabypa2=1
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gtrisoa0=7
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gtrisoa1=6
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gtrisoa2=5
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gelnagaina0=1
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gelnagaina2=1
    pci/2/1/rxgains5gelnagaina1=1
    pci/2/1/pa5ga0=0xff39,0x1a55,0xfcc7,0xff38,0x1a7f,0xfcc3,0xff33,0x1a66,0xfcc4,0xff36,0x1a7b,0xfcc2
    pci/2/1/pa5ga1=0xff3a,0x1b0b,0xfcba,0xff38,0x1b37,0xfcb4,0xff37,0x1aa1,0xfcc0,0xff37,0x1aef,0xfcb7
    pci/2/1/pa5ga2=0xff3a,0x1b28,0xfcb4,0xff38,0x1aaa,0xfcc2,0xff35,0x1a93,0xfcc1,0xff38,0x1aab,0xfcbe
    pci/2/1/maxp5ga0=100,100,100,100
    pci/2/1/maxp5ga1=100,100,100,100
    pci/2/1/maxp5ga2=100,100,100,100
    pci/2/1/mcsbw205glpo=0x99753333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw405glpo=0x99975333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw805glpo=0x99975333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw1605glpo=0
    pci/2/1/mcsbw205gmpo=0x99753333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw405gmpo=0x99975333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw805gmpo=0x99975333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw1605gmpo=0
    pci/2/1/mcsbw205ghpo=0x99753333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw405ghpo=0x99975333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw805ghpo=0x99975333
    pci/2/1/mcsbw1605ghpo=0
    pci/2/1/mcslr5glpo=0
    pci/2/1/mcslr5gmpo=0
    pci/2/1/mcslr5ghpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in40hrrpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in80and160lr5glpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb40and80hr5glpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in80and160hr5gmpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb40and80hr5gmpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in80and160hr5ghpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb40and80hr5ghpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in40lrpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in80and160hr5glpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb40and80lr5glpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in80and160lr5gmpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb40and80lr5gmpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb20in80and160lr5ghpo=0
    pci/2/1/sb40and80lr5ghpo=0
    pci/2/1/dot11agduphrpo=0
    pci/2/1/dot11agduplrpo=0
    pci/2/1/rxgainerr5ga1=27,31,31,31
    pci/2/1/rxgainerr5ga2=25,31,31,29
    secret_code=XXXXXXXX
    hw_version=1.5
    bl_version=2.0.0.2
    bootflags=1
    nflash_swecc=1
    serial_no=CAIAA2000001
    odmpid=SP-AC2015
    model=RT-AC66U
    ATEMODE=0
    pci/1/1/rxgainerr2ga1=1
    pci/1/1/rxgainerr2ga2=1
    pci/2/1/rxgainerr5ga0=61,63,63,1
    wait_time=3
    regulation_domain=US
    regulation_domain_5G=Q2
    pci/2/1/regrev=33
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. kenpet

    kenpet Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    This is the difference I have noticed between SP-AC2015 2002 and 2003 CFEs.

    Zentel CFE 1016 (EU)

    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a0=0xFE74
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a0=0x1A2D
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a0=0xF999
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a1=0xFE85
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a1=0x1C2D
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a1=0xF924
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a2=0xFE75
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a2=0x1971
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a2=0xF9C8

    SP-AC2015 CFE 2002

    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a0=0xFE74
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a0=0x1A2D
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a0=0xF999
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a1=0xFE85
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a1=0x1C2D
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a1=0xF924
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a2=0xFE75
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a2=0x1971
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a2=0xF9C8


    SP-AC2015 CFE 2003

    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a0=0xFEA9
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a0=0x1B95
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a0=0xF9EC
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a1=0xFEA5
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a1=0x1B34
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a1=0xFA18
    pci/1/1/pa2gw0a2=0xFE8C
    pci/1/1/pa2gw1a2=0x1B28
    pci/1/1/pa2gw2a2=0xF9E7


    Does the above delta matter? Or SP-AC2015 with 2003 can still be flashed with CFE 1016 (EU) as is? Or it should be flashed with modified CFE 1016 (EU) with the above changes in red corrected?
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2018
  4. Alex Meijer

    Alex Meijer New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    These values do not matter: They are 'corrected' by the main system when you 'apply' wifi settings for example.
    The newer firmwares enforce the wifi settings for txpower, maxp2ga and so on. This is done in a closed-source linked .so file.
    Every time you click the 'apply' button on the webpage the rc/init triggers and 'fixes' the 'wrong' values to match fcc regulations ;)
     
  5. kenpet

    kenpet Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    What you are saying is the Zentel CFE 1016 (EU) should work for flashing it to Stock ASUS firmware? All CFEs (HW Version 1.5, 1016 EU, 2002US, 1017US, 1018US) for RT-AC66U had the same values for these fields except 2003. Still puzzling me. I was hoping people who got this SP-AC2015 router in 2017 with 2003 might chime in with some feedback. No luck so far.

    Thank you.
     
  6. Murtaza12

    Murtaza12 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Took the risk and flashed the EU 2.0.0.3 CFE from the main post on my AC3200. Flash was successful, country code is now no longer JP/999, however, some 5 GHz channels are still missing, although I did unlock a few for the second 5 GHz radio.

    My US region AC66U had way more channels available.

    Instead of flashing the US CFE from the main post, can I flash the same edited CFE I used with my MAC addresses, but change the region code to #a and regrev to 0, to get the 'unlocked' region on my router?

    I have edited the .bin file but HxD does mention that the file size will change, and it does, very slightly.
    Stock CFE is 512 KB, but after changing the region code and regrev, it goes down to 511 KB.

    Will this result in a brick, or is it still safe to flash?
     
  7. NomadTech

    NomadTech Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    44
    A large portion at the end is all FF. Real used size is like half of what you have.
     
  8. LeoNakasima

    LeoNakasima New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hi All, I buyed a TM-1900AC last week and I has been converted to a AC68U with a 1.0.2.0 CFE. Since than I have a very poor WiFi connection speed and signal range, after upgrade to CFE TM-AC1900 (ARM) - (HW Revisions: 1.70) 2.1.2.4 (US) the wifi increased performance a lot, but every time router boot the CFE version change and the poor WiFi connection speed and signal range back.

    Which is the better CFE (bootloader) recommend to my router to improve the poor WiFi connection speed and signal range.

    Thank´s
     
  9. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    118
    For best performance install the 68P CFE (1.0.2.5). Don't forget to patch the 3 MACs. Be sure to do an NVRAM reset afterwards or it will still show-up as the old CFE version in nvram.
     
  10. LeoNakasima

    LeoNakasima New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Hello Ronnal, I have done your recommendation and the speed decreased even more, do you have or could recommend the right CFE, FW and procedures to me?

    Thanks
     
  11. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    118
    Are you in the US? The CFE you use affects the channel frequencies within the band. It could affect speeds if used with client devices that don't support those channels. Otherwise, this CFE's only effect would be to speed-up the CPU and RAM.
    Beyond that, this discussion (configuring and optimization) is off-topic for this thread.
     
  12. LeoNakasima

    LeoNakasima New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Ronald, I'm in Brazil But all my devices I bought in US, like my Macbook and iPhone, I think I doing something wrong, I'm following the procedure http://www.bayareatechpros.com/ac1900-to-ac68u/ .

    Thanks.
     
  13. alexyw

    alexyw Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    I recently bought a TM AC1900 too. The CFE is very likely locked down after an unsuccessful attempt to flash the newest Merlin. The resource here could potentially save my router. I'm aware the risks and care less about that than sticking with TM fw/performance. Here is my plan.
    Re-write the CFE to 2.1.2.2 (US)
    downgrade the fw to original TM fw which enables SSH.
    Flash AC68U fw.

    Any advises or potential issues?
     
  14. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    118
    How are you going to re-write the CFE if you need to "downgrade the fw to original TM fw which enables SSH"? I think you've got those two steps out-of-order.
    BTW, if you can ssh into it, you can flash the firmware directly using mtd-write2 trx-file-name linux
     
  15. alexyw

    alexyw Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    I'm currently on the latest Tmobile firmware which does not support SSH. I'm not able to downgrade the firmware to have SSH enabled because CFE was locked by Asus. I was under the impression I could re-write the old CFE (without using SSH). Seems I was wrong about that?
     
  16. lion

    lion New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    I am curious about upgrading my Asus CFE... I have multiple A68U routers, and when I dumped the old boot partitions and compared them I noted several differences besides the ethernet MAC addresses and the secret code. All of my routers are currently on the same version, and the differences between the routers are in the settings for:

    pa2ga1
    pa2ga2
    rpcal2g
    pa5ga0
    pa5ga1
    rpcal5gb3

    I have read in this thread that these values are overwritten by the main router firmware and are not important, but in looking at how ASUS handles CFE upgrades it appears that they explicitly preserve these values.

    1) Are these routers individually tuned at the factory?
    2) Does anyone really know if these settings need to be preserved or not?


    Thanks in advance...
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018 at 12:56 AM
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!