1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT-88U or Netgear R7000 as ap

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by ndmick, Jul 20, 2019.

  1. ndmick

    ndmick New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    I`m going to be setting up an ap in my work shop(metal building 100` from house),I do have both cat5e and cat 6 cable run to shop.Also I have an Asus RT-88U and a Netgear R7000 router at my disposal.Just trying to figure which would be better used as main or ap?Pluses and minus of the two? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Taikero

    Taikero Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    My experience has been that so long as you keep ASUS gear cool enough (I use a product made by AC Infinity for this job since it runs on USB power from the router) it performs very well and reliably. I don't have personal experience with the AC88U, however the listed specs are faster than the R7000 (AC3100 vs AC1900), and I've been happy with my own ASUS router purchases.

    Arguably unless your workshop is very large you could just use the AC88U as your sole router out there.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  3. mrc

    mrc Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Is this about which router you should have in your home and which you should have in your shop?
    I would have used the Asus-router as the main router connected to my internet connection, and then ran the R7000 in AP-mode in the shop. I earlier used a RT-AC3200 as my main router at home, and running the R7000 in AP-mode to get coverage all over my house.

    Since then I have replaced the R7000. I still use the RT-AC3200 as a main router, but with wifi disabled - then I use Googles WiFi to get mesh, so that clients don't get "stuck" to the AP they first was connected to when I move them around the house (earlier I often had to manually switch between the networks, even if there was a huge difference in signal strength).
     
  4. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,117
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    R7000 should be fine as an AP