Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT-AC5300 Asuswrt-Merlin

Discussion in 'Routers' started by raion969, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. raion969

    raion969 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Hello

    I have an Asus router with the asuswrt merlin software 380.68_4 .
    My question is which Wan packet overhead should i use for an VDSL2 Connection with 85/15 and also vectoring with PPPoE.

    MTU is 1492.

    Should i use ATM??

    I only play cs go so i dont need a lot of download speed or upload i just need stable internet and low ping and fast connection. So what are the best settings to geht the best performance?

    I heard i should use Bandwidth Limiter with fq_codel ? and also litmited all the other people in the internet.
     
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,914
    Location:
    Canada
    Use the PPPoE VDSL preset.
     
  3. raion969

    raion969 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Hello

    ok thanks

    Should i enable Spanning-Tree Protocol for gaming or deaktivate ?
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,914
    Location:
    Canada
    It's unrelated to gaming. I usually recommend disabling it for an home network.

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
     
  5. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,770
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I would suggest leaving it on as it's doesn't hurt - and can be helpful in some cases...
     
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,914
    Location:
    Canada
    It's incompatible with Broadcom's Flow Accelerator. That's why I recommend disabling it.
     
  7. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,770
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Lol... since it's all in the switch element of the system-on-chip - one would figure that Broadcom would have sorted that out - STP is a good thing.
     
  8. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,914
    Location:
    Canada
    FA works at level 2, which is probably why it can interfere.

    FA was ditched with the new HND platform, replaced by new technologies. No idea if they share the same limitations.
     

Share This Page