1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT-AC5300 Problems

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Wannes, Dec 11, 2019.

  1. Wannes

    Wannes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Hi,

    I have this router for 3y and 2m.
    Have had problems since the beginning, but nothing I couldn't overcome.
    Unfortunately he doesn't do it anymore..

    When I turn it on,
    the power led goes on, half power (stays on)
    the WPS les flashes 1s, half power (goes out before the WAN led)
    the LAN led blinks 0.5s, half power,
    when it's out the WAN led flashes once, full power.

    That's all

    Tried reset
    Turn off, pusch reset, turn on, wait for power led start blinking
    Turn off, pusch WPS, turn on, wait for power led start blinking
    Turn off, pusch reset & WPS, turn on, wait for power led start blinking
    Nothing, power led stays on, half power
    All led's are white btw

    Used different adapters, which al work properly on other Asus device.
    No difference.

    Any suggestions?

    Bonus,
    No fall damage.
    No water damage.
    If I leave it on for more then 3h, the power led goes on full power.
    The LED button is not 100%, deffenitly not the same feel as the WPS and WiFi.

    And go... :)

    Thx in advance.
     
  2. SomeWhereOverTheRainBow

    SomeWhereOverTheRainBow Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2019
    Messages:
    1,225
    Sounds like Damage from an improper flash. You should use the forum search option and lookup recovery mode for your specific router.
     
  3. Wannes

    Wannes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Been there, done that, unfortunately

    What I describe above as reset is the way to rescue/recover.
    You need to get your router in that mode, which he doesn't do.
    (Power led should be blinking/flashing)

    Unless you know a way to recover trough USB or something, it's quite hopeless to try rescuing, because I can't connect trough LAN (RJ45).
    Tried official software os Asus with there online guide...
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,136
    you could try to load firmware using miniWeb server included in bootloader, search for it how to start during boot.
     
  5. Wannes

    Wannes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Any chance you can help me get on my way.
    I have no idea when you speak of this miniWeb server.
    A link to somewhere would also be fine.
     
  6. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,136
  7. Wannes

    Wannes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    So I found the miniWeb program, seems like it doesn't do anything, or I can't do anything with it. Some extra guidance plz... :)
    Also learned about the whole Asuswrt-Merlin thing, which seems to be just a custom FW.
     
  8. Wannes

    Wannes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
  9. Wannes

    Wannes New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Anyhow, seems like I need to get the router in some reset/recover/rescue mode.
    That's were the problem is. I can't get it into this mode...
     
  10. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3,136
    Sorry for that, cant help you any more (never had a 5300), you may wait for others to jump in, but be prepared to need a new router at the end.
     
    COBOL-Coder likes this.
  11. COBOL-Coder

    COBOL-Coder Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    3 years, 2 months? It's time, get a new router (ASUS of course) , one that supports
    AI-Mesh and WiFi 6. AI-Mesh because it offers the possibilties of relatively painless expansion and WiFi 6 for the obvious.
    From the perspective of economics, think of it as a one time expense with on-going benifits for the life of your system. Too much router is never a problem, too little always is so buy the best you can afford as you might be living with your choices another 3 years.
     
  12. #TY

    #TY Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2019
    Messages:
    283
    L&LD likes this.