What's new

ASUS RT- AC5300Set up help.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JOE.G

Regular Contributor
Hi, I am new at this I usually just use what ever my ISP Provides. I just purchased the above router and I would like to know how I should set it up, What should I leave as default what should I turn on or off or change. I live in the country and don't have to worry about a lot of interference.

I Have some older devices that only work on the 2.4 and I would like to split up the 5 between the devices in the home, There are 6 of us in the home and most people have there own, Laptop,Smart TV, I pad, Throw in some PS4,PS3 and some other odds and ends. Everything is wireless.

I also Have a Nano station I think it is only 2.4 that shoots about a 100 Ft to my Shop which then goes to another Nano station then to a Netgear Router ( I think a 4600 series ) .
I would love to Have AIMESH reach to shop as I would buy another ASUS Router. Current speeds are pretty slow in the shop.

What Security setting should I choose? I am guessing there will be different choices.

Thanks a lot

P.S hope I made the right choice I was going to buy the 86U.

Last edited:
Just go with the defaults to begin with. If you encounter problems you might need to change some setting, but don't preempt a problem that doesn't exist. Security setting? - Do you mean the wireless "Authentication Method"? WPA2-Personal is the only realistic choice (unless you want to setup a Radius server :eek:).