Asus RT-AC56U worth reviving?

speedlever

Regular Contributor
I have an old AC56U I retired several years ago and replaced with a Ubiquiti system. It was running a version of Merlin... 380.62. (edited to correct the version)

I have a daughter that just moved into an apartment and needs a decent router. Would it be worth reviving the AC56U and putting the latest Merlin (384.6) on it? Or is it too old to be securely useful?
 
Last edited:

skeal

Part of the Furniture
I have an old AC56U I retired several years ago and replaced with a Ubiquiti system. It was running a version of Merlin... 380.59, I believe.

I have a daughter that just moved into an apartment and needs a decent router. Would it be worth reviving the AC56U and putting the latest Merlin (384.6) on it? Or is it too old to be securely useful?
Sorry, no longer supported I think by Asus as well, you could look at the Asus download page.
 

skeal

Part of the Furniture
That doesn't prevent you from using another type of firmware, possibly tomato or dd wrt possibly google is your friend.
 

Gar

Very Senior Member
I still use mine with other f/w and it works fine. Not as good as my 1900 but completely usable.
 

elorimer

Very Senior Member
My 56u is gangsta cool.
 

Swistheater

Very Senior Member

Swistheater

Very Senior Member
That doesn't prevent you from using another type of firmware, possibly tomato or dd wrt possibly google is your friend.
Asus has released updates with security fixes only, it is on older firmware branch though and the time it would take to maintain it would be too specific for merlin to bother implementing (though it would be "possible"). it is too specific, and there are too little of security updates that have been done to be considered "worth" the time.
 

Swistheater

Very Senior Member
I have an old AC56U I retired several years ago and replaced with a Ubiquiti system. It was running a version of Merlin... 380.59, I believe.

I have a daughter that just moved into an apartment and needs a decent router. Would it be worth reviving the AC56U and putting the latest Merlin (384.6) on it? Or is it too old to be securely useful?
Johns fork would be great to run on it as it still actively supports providing it with security backports.
 

skeal

Part of the Furniture
Hmm. I'm not familiar with John's fork. I'll have to check into that.

I just put 384.6 on it. But no problem to change that!
John's fork is your best option. Stable as a rock with awesome features.
 

oso2276

Regular Contributor
What would be the negative of leaving 384.6 on it?
384.6 has patches up to 25-July-2018
John's fork has patches up to 17-April-2019

In this regard, John's fork might include bug fixes and more current libraries.

Check the release notes for both and take your pick

Enviado desde mi moto g(8) plus mediante Tapatalk
 

Selim Üzümcü

New Around Here
actually there was an important update released from Asus in 2019/11/05

Version 3.0.0.4.382.516412019/11/0537.55 MBytes

ASUS RT-AC56U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.382.51641
Fixed a DDoS vulnerability

can't we get an updated merlin release including this?
 

speedlever

Regular Contributor
384.6 has patches up to 25-July-2018
John's fork has patches up to 17-April-2019

In this regard, John's fork might include bug fixes and more current libraries.

Check the release notes for both and take your pick

Enviado desde mi moto g(8) plus mediante Tapatalk
I see.

I just went to the Asus site for the AC56U and found Asus released FW 3.0.0.1.382.51641 on 2019/11/05. I assume that is Nov 5, 2019 and not May 11, 2019. In either case, that would be a later release than either Merlin or John's Fork. Correct?

 

speedlever

Regular Contributor
actually there was an important update released from Asus in 2019/11/05

Version 3.0.0.4.382.516412019/11/0537.55 MBytes

ASUS RT-AC56U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.382.51641
Fixed a DDoS vulnerability

can't we get an updated merlin release including this?
I see you posted this as I was working on my post about the same topic.

Perhaps I need to install the Asus version since it's the most recent.
 

speedlever

Regular Contributor
Quick question about the AC56U. It is dual band, but in setup, it offers separate SSIDs for the dual bands. Does the AC56U not offer the ability to automatically switch between bands? IE, as you approach your house, you connect to the longer ranging 2G band, but once inside and in a strong enough 5G signal, automatically switch to the 5G band?
 

SomeWhereOverTheRainBow

Very Senior Member
I also had a AC56U but am now happy with a AC86U.

You can try to load the AC68U firmware on the AC56U. This two routers were introduced at the same moment and have almost the same hardware. So it is strange that the AC56U is already discontinued while the AC68U is still receiving updates until now.

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/aimesh-on-rt-ac56u.55732/
This is taking something useful and potentially turning it into a paper weight
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top