1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT-AC68P will changing Modes change IP address

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Ronb55, Aug 24, 2019.

  1. Ronb55

    Ronb55 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Will changing the mode of my Asus from wireless router to AP change the IP address? To log in the Asus right now it is 192.168.2.1. I don't want to have to put in recovery mode and go through all that again. The asus is setup as wireless router but soon as I get the firmware update (forced) from ATT my setup will no longer work. The update breaks DMZ setup with the Asus. Last time I change modes on the asus it defaulted back to 192.168.1.1 and my Gateway is 192.168.1.254. It turned out to be a big pain and ended up after many many attempts to get in recovery mode I finally got it running and made the IP change back to 192.168.2.1 but firmware will break it soon as it downloads..Or I can just use the Asus RT-AC68P as AP and forget it
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2019
  2. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,302
    There is no predefined IP in AP mode, it will take one from main router DHCP. You have to search on your main router which IP your AP got.
     
  3. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,989
    Or if you know the APs MAC address you can on the router assign it a static IP.
     
  4. Val D.

    Val D. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    350
    It would be nice to include in the thread name what the discussion is about.
    "Asus 68P" doesn't say anything, it's not even a correct ASUS router model.
     
  5. Ronb55

    Ronb55 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    RT-AC68P
    Will changing the Mode also change the IP Address?
    Okay
     
  6. Val D.

    Val D. Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    350
    You don't need to put the router in Recovery Mode for anything IP address change related.

    1. In Router Mode IP address change is done with few clicks only (LAN -> LAN IP) and all you need to access the WebGUI after the change is to remember the new IP address.

    2. In Access Point Mode the IP address is assigned by DHCP server running on the Main Router. You can find what the IP address is on the Main Router (Network Map -> View List) or using ASUS Device Discovery Utility. You can fix that IP address either on the Main Router (LAN -> DHCP Server -> Enable Manual Assignment) or on the Access Point itself (LAN -> Get LAN IP Automatically? -> No).

    You can edit the thread name.
    This way someone else may have better chances to find an answer to similar to your questions.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2019